Gain & loss, in a circle: embossed

in #circle-poem7 years ago (edited)

Gain & loss, in a circle: embossed

original (circular) poetry


green-negative-crumplesketch.jpg


green-crumple-sketch.jpg


Notes: Greetings and welcome to the @d-pend. As you may be able to guess, a circular poem is a piece that can be recited potentially infinitely by starting from the beginning immediately after concluding. It is totally circular, and this is integral to the subject matter, lest I be accused of gimmick! I will only type out one round of the piece, so it is up to you if you want to read it again, and how many times (I suggest twice, just to get the effect.)

The piece talks about the spinning mind of an artist, who goes through a kaleidoscope of feeling regarding their work, and their very self-worth, eventually deciding it is best to destroy it altogether, which grants them the greatest relief! It also addresses the concepts of gain and loss, examining their absurdity. Please enjoy and feel free to leave me your impressions with a comment.

Have you ever tried to write a circular piece? How was the experience? If you want to create one yourself, use the tag "circle-poem" and post a comment with a link to your piece and I will check it out! Thank you for visiting my blog and reading my work, I greatly appreciate it! Have an awesome day.


green-crumple-sketch (3).jpg


blank gainloss.jpg


And 'gain blank sheet
All loss, my sweet!
And soft, forsooth
Though brazen feigned.

If rough, most surely:
Blame the world for scars,
For fears, through num'rous
Vis'tudes vainly hurled.

O, woe: my frail, unfurling flag!
Sad sponge for lowliest sympathy.

A most unbecoming clown I'd be
A'moping 'round, all agony!

And how they'd point, and laugh, and roar,
And full abuse me 'til no more
Abuse I'd take, from thence to shake,
Through tears of rage discern my cage.

Enfuel my folio with oil crude &
Singe to naught my lewd creation,
Full consigned to bleakest pit,
To be as though 'twas never writ,
All mournless to e'er remain—
A total loss count I as gain.

(And 'gain, blank sheet
All loss, my sweet!)
etc...


neg blank gainloss.jpg


green-crumple-sketch (2).jpggreen-crumple-sketch.jpgred-negative-crumplesketch (4).jpgred-negative-crumplesketch (6).jpg


Written by
@d-pend
11/26/17
.
Image credits

1 & 4 — "Crumpled Paper" by Ullman
2 & 3— "Notebook Paper Texture" by Rkstock


red-negative-crumplesketch (5).jpg
red-negative-crumplesketch (3).jpggreen-crumple-sketch (3).jpggreen-crumple-sketch (1).jpg


red-negative-crumplesketch (7).jpg

Sort:  

Hey @d-pend. This one is a step in the right direction, in my opinion. You provided some education and insight into the work, which helps the reader feel more engaged. The poem itself is of more manageable length so that busy people can at least get through the whole things. More engaging and valuable across the board. Just my opinion, though...

Nice, that's good to know! Thank you @transcript-junky. I do feel it's generally good to keep things shorter rather than longer, especially with most people having extremely tiny attention spans, lol. I can definitely see how the explanations help people, so while I formerly saw it as distasteful and against the spirit of poetry, I have modified that stance in view of the fact that it fosters greater appreciation and accessibility in the art form.

Agreed. I have made similar adjustments to the format of some of my regular posts in light of increased valuable response AND acceptance of my own neurosis, which can at times be my own worst enemy. The key is to be cautiously flexible in my opinion.

Beginning is the end of a new one. Everything revolves around a piece of thought, torn pieces wander through the energy of the universe, the head circulates around the electric circuits of piled pile of garbage.

Returning to yourself, the future ferves strawberries with its colors of autism. Launched sin gives freedom if we wash it in the honey of the honey, the swim with the heavenly tower.

The power of the launch brings the strength of the end, circulates the passion of life, every day lights a new light in our program - loyal friends are there to help. Perfect poetry @d-pend

Reading poetry in english is hard for meee but I think it would be a good challenge :D
This style of writting I didn't know it existed... Or did you just invent it?

I understand, because I am fond of reading Octavio Paz's poems en epañol. Es difícil porque él usa lenguaje oscura.

I'm sure it already existed, but I also just made it up XD

I even find difficult to read poems in spanish too XD
I tried to read "something wicked this way comes" in English, it's not poetry but it is in verse... I just couldn't catch up XD

pleasure to meet you and your channel, I like your writing style!

It would mean a lot if you could give a feedback to my first poem.
Cheers, Daniel

https://steemit.com/love/@gedanyi/my-first-poem-dating-insanity

la verdad siempre es hermosa. el post te vuela el cerebro . jeje

I've got an article and i include you to something just take a look here.

Poetic genius🌺

you are too kind :P

excellent writing,very good job,thanks for nice sharing

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by d-pend from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $18.52 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 27 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60625.81
ETH 2406.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61