Review | Solo: A Star Wars Story

in #cinema6 years ago (edited)

Solo: A Star Wars Story

Hi everyone! I'm Thomas and today I'm going to talk about the movie "Solo: A Star Wars Story" by Ron Howard. (Without Spoilers.)

First of all, we must know what the movie is about:

Sinopsis:

Young Han Solo and his gang of smugglers are trying to steal coaxiums from the planet Kessel. Since he needs a very fast ship for the mission, he only contacts Lando Calrissian, the owner of the Millennium Falcon.

This film is the total proof that Star Wars fans are the real flaw in Star Wars. I, personally, was one of the people that the bad vibe surrounding this film, I felt was going to be a real waste of time.... even more so the day it came out. But, to my great honor, I must say that I liked the film. Of course, I am aware that this film is not as important or necessary as the new trilogy. Or it's not as emotional as Rogue One, but we must attribute to the film how entertaining it can be; and I think it has its own, being quite fast, light and fun.

What I did like it.

I mean, I quite like the new "approach" that the new films are taking. And I was curious what the other side of the galaxy was like. How it affected that as long as the empire reigned, there was the poor side of the cities. And in Han Solo, this is explored quite well, the adventure that Han has to become the Han Solo that we know, from the roots he came from. This new gray tone that it has given the cities, I think it gives more volume to the world of Star Wars. At least for me it's interesting to see the "poor" side of the world of the movies.

Now, another thing that makes the movies quite entertaining is that something is always happening: There is always a mission to accomplish, and in every mission there is an action scene involved, and that is that they are all quite entertaining, the persecutions, wars, battles, everything becomes very interesting and worth seeing. In my opinion, none of these sequences becomes tedious, no flaws, and the film, in my opinion, entertained me more than any scene in "The Last Jedi". And these are accompanied by a few protagonists, quite charismatic, and a light humor to smooth things over. As they go from mission to mission, even though it is light and shallow, it is quite fun.

And, uh, so do the characters. Chewbacca is one of the most loved characters in the whole franchise, and finally in this film they do him justice that him deserves. In this film they even give him his own bow, and they give him much more prominence, which is to be thanked for the fact that I now see him more as an individual character than as Han's friend. And omg, Donald Glover like Lando totally steals the movie. It's definitely one of the pillars of the film, it's a character that made me laugh a lot, even though I thought it would be the worst part of the film. And all of this is due to Glover's performance, blessed be the casting, I got very hooked. They describe him as a smug and charismatic character, and combined with Han's smugness, if it looks good; I mean, just look at the betting scene, and you'll see what I mean.

And yes, obviously I have to talk about the character of Han Solo. And Alden Ehrenreich, he does a good job... sometimes. If it was very rare at first to see Han Solo young and creating his original story... but as the film progressed I became more and more comfortable with his job. The thing is, sometimes it varies a lot who he is. I mean, sometimes the actor seems like he's doing a "parody" trying to imitate Harrison Ford; then sometimes it seems like he's a totally different character; but then (and this is when I felt good about him) the actor does a good job of portraying a young Han Solo. I think that, individually, the character has a lot of strength, the thing falls when they bring another character to the screen; Alden doesn't do enough work, because something is wrong when any other character, like Chewie or Lando, or even Woody Harrelson's character steals the limelight, I think he needed more presence.

What I didn't like it.

One of the problems I can get to say about the film are the parts of the script and this story. Many of Han's dialogues and information feel very strange. For example, as it comes to be called "Han Solo" they are very forced. Another example is the line of "I'm not good, I'm the bad guy, I'm the bad guy" feels very dramatic, because of the fact that, although Han does get together with bad people, they never take him in a direction where he's going to be the bad guy, so this line don't have any sense, like others.

Another thing is that, yes, all missions bring epic moments, but the reasons why they were being executed weren't very compelling, and I never felt that there was an important reason for which all these are being executed. Basically you feel that all this is going on because in the future Han will be an outlaw, but it feels like it's just because yes.

Now, a little problem I have with the movie is some characters. Let me take Beckett, the character of Harrelson, as an example. God, Harrelson does a character folding clothes and he would do well, the thing that bothers me is when we talk about his writing. We don't spend enough time with him, of course when we do he steals the screen but otherwise we don't feel any weight in his participation in the story. I mean, this man is supposed to be a mentor to Han, but it never feels like the characters mattered to each other. And also with the character of Qi'ra, who also wants to sell us an interesting character and an independent woman, the character never transcends, and feels as if it were "something more" from the film, without really making us care about her.

To conclude, I must say that the film for me gave much more than I expected, despite the negative vibe, I ended up liking it very much. And I would like to think that if this film had a totally different name but with another name in another franchise, people would like it very much. And, although sometimes it's predictable and sometimes it's a Han Solo reduced to the background by other characters, the story is quite entertaining, and quite funny and ends up being quite enjoyable.

Rating: 7.0/10

I hope you like this review. If you do, remember vote and follow me, thanks. Bye!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Thomas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44