Review | Rampage

in #cinema6 years ago (edited)

Rampage

Hi everyone! I'm Thomas and today I'm going to talk about the movie "Rampage" by Brad Peyton. (Without Spoilers.)

First of all, we must know what the movie is about:

Sinopsis:

When three different animals become infected with a dangerous pathogen, a primatologist and a geneticist team up to stop them from destroying Chicago.

When I first started watching this movie I thought, "Well, let's see The Rock being The Rock," but do you think I expected to like it so much? Oh, fuck, no. This film for me is definitely classified as a "Guilty Pleasure". I was hoping to see just another one of The Rock's action films, but I was surprised that she brought so much more. And I refuse to give it a bad grade, and in this review instead of separating it into "What I liked and what I didn't like" I'll just start giving random opinions and comments, okay?

Let's see, first of all, if you are the type of person who takes things too seriously, you expect to see a serious, deep, mysterious film with many hidden messages; from here I tell you that you are going to fail big. This film can easily be the "Fast and Furious" of 2018. If you just relax and are willing to watch a meaningless and totally ridiculous movie, you will be amazed at how good this movie can be.

When I saw that The Rock was going to star in this film, based on a video game, I once said "Well, a lot of rubbish". I thought they were going to take it seriously, it would be very boring and I was going to hate it, but in a way, surprisingly, I ended up enjoying it a lot. Of course, on an objective level, if we take parts of the films and divide them up and watch them individually, we can say that the film is "terrible" and, of course, it could be, depending on how seriously you take it. But, when we put all these parts together and see how they work, it ends up being very entertaining.

The way this film was made is to be applauded, because unlike many films that take themselves seriously and therefore end up being very boring. Rampage, use the ridiculous, the cliché, all the crap in the movies and it looks like they use it because it's what they want to do. They use everything ridiculous that exists in the film world and embrace it because it is not ambitious enough to be a "film drama". It only seeks to be something that entertains you.

Now, speaking of the center of the film, we must speak of The Rock. His character boils down to the fact that there are really four monsters in the film: the crocodile, the wolf, the gorilla and the rock. Totally consistent that The Rock is a social misfit despite how funny and handsome it is? Damn, no, but who cares? And the relationship his have with the gorilla, if it's very good. First of all I have to say that although the gorilla does look like a cartoon, I can't ask for the quality of effects of "The Planet of the Apes" either, but it really fits because everything that's going on in the film seems like a cartoon: without any sense. But all this, I repeat, does not matter! We ended up getting attached to their friendship.

And now, speaking of other characters, I will speak of the "villains". This is a perfect case that they would have ruined a lot if they had taken the film seriously. Villains could easily be taken "seriously" with what they just like money and all that; but it's all very funny, even them! (But more the brother.). And now let's talk about Jeffrey Dean Morgan's little bow. I don't know why they decided that JFD was a cowboy, with a lousy Texas accent, but even that looks great in the movie. Even the man is omnipotent; we are told he is thousands of miles away and then with a transition scene, BUM! He's at the action scene, does that make sense? Fuck, no! Does it matter? Not even!

I personally didn't expect the film to have quite good action scenes (this time seriously haha) and I didn't expect the film to get so aggressive at some point either. It shows us scenes of very strong, very graphic deaths accompanied by effects that are not perfect but that comply. It's funny because I assume that the transition from the game to the movie actually went very well, what does the game consist of? In 3 monsters destroying cities; and that's just what happens in the movie, but now with The Rock effect, and it's great. I think every action scene is brutal and fits the film very well.

Now, to conclude, it's obvious that Rampage is not a good film, but it's a big surprise this year, not because it's good, but because it's so entertaining. It's the perfect definition of guilty pleasure, you know it's all wrong, but you love it. To watch it you just have to lie back and take absolutely nothing seriously, and you'll see how fun and emotional the movie can be. I mean, nothing makes sense, and that's what makes it enjoyable. Now, before I give the grade I have to say it's a grade where I try to be objective, but, sentimentally, I give him more, so the grade right now doesn't matter, okay?

Rating: 6.6/10

I hope you like this review. If you do, remember vote and follow me, thanks. Bye!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Thomas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51