You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ultimate Dystopian & Post/Apocalyptic Films List (1300+ TITLES!)

in #cinema7 years ago

My lecture is already ready so no need to lecture me. I know that Utopia is no where and dystopia is an anti-Utopia. I'm talking about the darker turn that such movies take recently and how generally even not dystopian movies feel very depressing lately and people like it.

Sort:  

I say all that because when ever you search for "dystopian films list" essentially every list our there has selections from the both D & PA. Sure some of the PA are D, but typically pure PA films are on the lists with no distinction between societal or dystopia or just crappy world because it blew up or whatever.

dystopian films lists are tricky thing to begin with. But I prefer the OED definition of dystopia: "An imaginary place or condition in which everything is as bad as possible" In which case D and PA can be the same thing. Because crappy world is as bad as possible in my opinion.

Yeah see I'm driven by a systems analysis approach to the (real) world, and dystopian fiction are the ultimate universe of cautionary tales. So I put a lot of emphasis on people being clear on the subject to more appreciate them for that and for gaining a spectrum perspective on this kind of stuff as even the darkest of them all it all more and more seems to be coming true.

I fear most people whom watch them dont even read into this aspect of the story telling not nearly enough, which would help explain this trend you're emphasizing of people being oblivious how you described it.

And that is why i was "lecturing" you on you lecture.

:D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48