Why Our Cinemas Are Dying

in #cinema8 years ago (edited)

By the latest figures issued the other day less and less people are going to the Cinema these days.

Oddly enough the biggest decline is in the younger ages from 14 -24, however I suppose we can understand this as they are obsessed with looking at their phones every few minutes and now watch videos through their smart phones.

For me it is all about the viewing experience and I do believe we need to look at what is putting people off from visiting.

Admittedly, streaming through I Tunes, Netflix and other home media devices will have taken its toll put you will never experience the sound quality or the screen size of a cinema.

Admittedly the Popcorn munchers or the people who want to take their evening meal into a cinema can put a few people off, or the incessant talkers, fidgeters or the people who constantly kick your seat from behind.

And then there is the mobile phone user who just cant leave it alone and has to check texts and email's every 10 minutes or so are not going to help.

So what can HELP..

Well. Imax and 3D have certainly helped giving the customer a completely breathtaking different experience rather than watching a video at home as their is no comparison, and the sound quality unrivalled .

Imax have developed real experiences as if you are on that ship sailing on the sea, or on that roller coaster ride and that you would never get at home.

More and more films are being made in 3D giving you those real special effects which can be truly awesome and once again something that you can't get at this moment in time from home viewing.

Hydraulic 6 seats motion cinema

Another avenue being tested is Smell Vision. No not that horrible smell of Natchos and Hot Dogs lingering from the cinema, but a new format where you can smell around you in the Cinema.

I suppose all of these effects could have real benefits or not depending what type of movie you are watching.

Personally I don't want meals served at cinemas or drinks but more tests are underway where you can eat at a table in the Cinema, however to bring back flagging audiences Cinemas will have to look at all available and viable options .

Strangely enough I don't think it is the price of tickets that put people off from visiting the Cinema, nor do I think its is Netflix, Amazon or other streaming devices however I do understand that this is a factor for some.

So whats the real Reason..

Well.. I might be wrong but I believe its the people, and what I mean by that is the disruptive people who ruin your entertainment and who are not kicked out for all of the reasons I have outlined in this post.

Cinemas are likely to lose attendance numbers because of these people and their disruptive behaviour. For every nuisance that they refuse to kick out, they will lose at least one innocent movie-goer who becomes fed up with the experience and then vows never to return.

Images courtesy of Pixabay
Video courtesy of You Tube

Sort:  

I think you might be right about the people. Whenever I go to the cinema, I'm always happiest when there's not many people there.
The last time in the cinema, there was this guy sitting behind us and he just talked through the movie. I'm not sure what his problem was, but it was so annoying.

Some cant seem to stop talking. Makes you wonder why they go in the first place

Cinema attendance has been declining for a few decades now. It's most the result of technology making it easy to watch the film at home. I make films, and though I love the cinemas, they're on the losing side of entertainment as venues.

All the reasons you listed above are also why the theater will continue to diminish.

All in all it's probably a positive trend.

Thanks for your comments

Yes i really think that people sometimes is inconsiderate when watching movies in cinema. Especially when its already in climax and someone will stand and walk around I rally hate it.

Drives me mad as well.

Other aspects of the cinema industry make it a self-defeating process. For example, higher ticket prices due to low attendance motivates lower attendance and higher prices... It saddens me since I've only recently started to go to the cinema more now that I'm out of graduate school.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39