You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Cult Movies: ‘Fight Club’, Revisited

in #cinema5 years ago (edited)

This is one of the best reviews I have read in years. It is very well written and well researched. It praises the movie turning very attractive to those who don't know it, while showing all rhe ramifications of its complex premise.
I did not like Fight Club that much, but I can see its appeal. Like fighting, boxing, and many other violent attractions, there is some vicarious pleasure I don't need to experience.
I do praise the underlying critique to an allienating society that 20 years later fulfilled its promise.
As you rightly point out, tday's is a "snowflake generation" and so much political correctness and oversensitivity are not going to right the wrong; on the contrary, they'll worsened the "evils" they were meant to fence off or even obliterate.
The movie has been quite influential, no doubt, but as you remark the violent means by which the end should be achieved may be hard to channel these days

the means to this end are very violent, but it’s easy too see how so many people would find the idea of being debt-free quite appealing.

This obviously brings Mr Robbot to mind. I think that corporations and complacent legislators have made it very easy for oppressed majorities to conceive destructive plans against unscrupulous magnates.

Sort:  

Thanks for the nice words! Truth is writing this review kinda made me want to rewatch the movie, as much of my belief system has changed since I last saw it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65037.75
ETH 2638.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81