GOZU a twisted, surreal and horrifying experience. Takashi Miike, callitinstincts Film Recommendation Of The Day #1

in #cinema7 years ago (edited)

Gozu is an incredibly strange piece of cinema in my opinion. I was literally unable to take my eyes off the screen during it's 2hour and 9 minute run time.

This movie is directed by: Takeshi Miike
&
written by Sakichi Satô.

Starring: Yûta Sone, Shô Aikawa, Kimika Yoshino and more (See bottom of post links for more)

Takeshi Miike is a legendary Japanese Director who's responsible for such works as 13 Assassins, & Ichi The Killer.

Gozu_Poster.jpg

Gozu is classed as a "Crime,Drama, Horror" movie but I would describe it as a Psychological Thriller that grips you in from the near start to the very end. Not to mention the subtle and not so subtle black comedy elements running through the film.

It goes a little something like this;

Yakuza dude (Minami) is told to drive his immediate superior (Ozaki) who'm he's known for a long time to kill him by the "Big Boss", during the journey the superior disappears and the main character is then on a mission to find him.

Sounds pretty cheesy right? I should probably mention that at this point we are no more than fifteen-twenty minutes into the movie and the Yakuza Boss, the superior and the people in the restaurant are all completely nuts in one way or another.

gozu.jpg

I re-watched this movie earlier in the week, I was aware that knowing the story may dull the suspense element a little however I still found the movie to be enjoyable, The ending is absolutely bonkers even for Takashi Miike's standards.

However once you start looking at the film from that point of view thoughts begin to pop into my head such as "Why was this film even made & is the writer okay?"

As this is a Recommendation and not a review i'm going to leave it there!
Thanks for reading, be sure to follow for more.
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0361668/
https://www.rottentomatoes.com/

Sort:  

Structurally, Gozu remains a series of strange scenes sandwiched between a plot that involve Minami’s chase for his Yakuza bro Ozaki in a small city, which is evocative of the sporadic expeditions in Greek Mythology. Thanks for sharing, I love this movie. I watch it again and again. Every time I am free. Meanwhile, welcome to steemit.

I couldn't of put it better myself, literally... Yes it is a great movie indeed. Thank you very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69460.30
ETH 3372.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74