Torture - Los Angeles Traffic

in #cigars7 years ago

I left work at around 4:00PM this evening and headed out from South Ventura County into Los Angeles County & the San Fernando Valley. Going to my girlfriend’s house. I was hoping to get there relatively quickly and have a cigar and a drink. The drive without traffic from my work to Jen’s house takes about 20 minutes, but after work it usually takes about 40-45 minutes and is tolerable.
Well today there was a multi car collision on the US 101 Southbound which is my route. I hope no one was injured and I do feel some compassion for the people involved. That being said it took me over 90 minutes.
I did happen to use Waze and it might have saved me some time, but most of my route consisted of stretches without an offramp. If you don’t know what Waze is its an app that runs on smartphones for traffic and navigation etc.
Anyway I usually suffer when I’m in traffic, but this time I was able to just try to accept the situation and stay relatively calm……most of the way :-).
Waze took me up into Calabasas around Mulholland Drive through a really nice and really expensive looking neighborhood that I had not been through before. I was able to look at this as a learning experience and if I ever need to go to someone’s house that lives in that area I will have a bit more navigation knowledge under my belt.
i do hope that no one was seriously injured or killed in the accident and that my fellow travelers got to their destinations only slightly late.
Here is a picture of my reward at the end of my journey. Drew Estate Liga Privada T52 cigar and a dram of Grangestone Highland Single Malt Scotch - Sherry Cask Finish. And also this Steem-post that will make me millions of dollars.
Thanks for reading.
Sanford
17_07_14_LIga.JPG17_07_14_Grangestone.JPG

Sort:  

Nice to find a fellow smoker on here and that cigar's got my mouth watering.

Hi @winstonalden thanks for the comment. It's great to have a few of us cigar people on here. Do you know about @gregm? He does reviews here on Steemit.

I just checked out his feed. He's got some thorough reviews on there - thanks for the recommendation!

I'm giving some serious thought to doing pipe tobacco reviews. Probably not as much of an audience but I'll sure have fun writing them.

Congratulations @ssgallant! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow. Traffic in LA is horrible. But, I see how you relaxed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94