Thoughts from My Humidor - A Cigar With a Tight DrawsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cigars8 years ago (edited)


In my cigar smoking world, nothing is worse than cutting an expensive Cohiba only to find the draw constricted as an extra thick milkshake. 

As sucky (pun) as this is, there are a few things you can try when it happens, and it will happen, cigars are handmade and hands make mistakes. 

I prefer to punch cut when possible, and so I probably run into this problem more than the average smoker. If you are not familiar with a punch cutter, it is a device that produces a small circular cut into the head of the cigar, it pokes out a small part of the cap. Many torch lighters include one somewhere on the device.

If I am smoking a small ring cigar, or non-parejo shape such as a torpedo, I then use a straight guillotine cutter, but I cut as little as will produce an open draw, one can always cut more. 

But anyway, when you run into a tight draw, the clog is usually at the head (puffing end) of the cigar, this is the best case scenario for a plugged draw. Simply use a poking tool of some type; a small computer repair screwdriver, the poker of a pipe tool, or even a paper clip. 

If this does not open up the draw, then most likely the whole cigar is rolled too tight, or possibly over-humidified, which will cause the filler to expand. I recommend first trying to massage the cigar all over, being very careful to not crack the wrapper. Often, gently squeezing all over will loosen up any clogged area of the cigar. You will notice firm spots if this is the case, softening them should fix the draw. 

Still plugged? You will then need a poking tool that will penetrate at least half the length of your stogie. A few pokes on each side should do the trick.

If all else fails, toss the cigar in disgust, and cut another one so you can, hopefully, cloud your sorrows.

Sort:  

Good Tips
I've been using a notch or V cutter for the past few years and I find it works well with the smaller ring sized as well as the larger ones,

I had a slimline V-cutter that just shredded my cigars. It came free with a Montecristo sampler. I need to invest in a good one!
What one do you use?

I like it

if I may know, if you cigar lovers. ??
@gregm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50