Quick Cigar Review - Headley Grange by Crowned Heads

in #cigars8 years ago

Wrapper: Ecuador Sumatra
Binder: Nicaragua
Filler: Nicaragua
Size:  Toro 6.1 x 50 

This particular cigar was gifted to me by one of my buddies from an online cigar group.

The pre-light smell is like pungent prune at the foot (open end), and a barnyard, almost manure scent on the wrapper.  :-D  That probably sounds horrible, but it usually means it is going to be a great cigar. We shall see...

I figured I would illustrate the punch cutter that I used to cut the cigar.  They create a nice opening without shredded tobacco ending up in your mouth.

Sometimes a punch cut will not get deep enough to provide an open draw, in that case, I simply poke with something sturdy but not too wide.  My $2 pipe tool works great:

After lighting and taking a few puffs, I start to taste the flavor profile.  There is an interesting cinnamon and nutmeg nuance, with a nice cedar and sugar finish.   These flavors are not new to me, but they took me by surprise, much more different than I am used too.  The smoke is of a decent output, and cool, however not really cloudy.

The flavor nuances stay consistent throughout the first half of the cigar.  At about the halfway point, the nuances transition into more of a mellow and darker cedar, with citrus, and sweetness.   

The construction was perfect, and the burn line razor sharp.  There were a couple times I left the cigar unattended for a few minutes, and it was still burning when I returned.  The retail cost is around $11.  If I were at the cigar shop and wanted something totally different, I would pick one up.  The CH Headley Grange is not a cigar you see in your humidor and keep passing it up.

Overall, I would score the Headley Grange a 7.5 out of 10.

Sort:  

I do not think I have ever tried any Crowned Heads cigars. What else do they make?

Four kicks, La Imperosa, Jericho hill, JD Howard to name a few off the top of my head. All are great!

Very cool!

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56446.21
ETH 2966.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.17