Quick Cigar Review - Arturo Fuente Anejo 888

in #cigars8 years ago (edited)

It seems the Anejo line of Fuente cigars are loved by almost everybody who smokes cigars, and rightfully so. The Fuente Anejo sports a 5 year old Connecticut maduro wrapper, aged in a cognac barrel.  The Anejo comes in 8 different Vitolas, which seems like a lot for a blend, but it has been around since the year 2000.  They are limited, and are usually only released twice a year, around Christmas and Fathers day.

Wrapper:  Connecticut Broadleaf  
Binder: Dominican  
Filler: Dominican  
Size:  Torpedo  (6 5/8 x 44)

Of course I use a straight cutter due to the torpedo shape.  I have seen some people get funky with the use of a punch cutter, and V-cut on a torpedo, but that just isn't my thing.  The draw is nice and open, that is always a good thing with a more narrow ring gauge.

After toasting the cigar, lighting, and letting it rest a minute, I take the first few puffs.  The smoke is cloudy, yet smooth and flavor packed.  The Anejo is a very consistent cigar, with the same experience each time.  Amazing sweet caramel, cashews, chocolate, salt, and spice, all well balanced with an espresso finish. 

The wrapper on the Anejo offers a unique flavor on its own.  The Connecticut broad-leaf was aged in used cognac barrels.  This provides a richness to the cigar, but also a very interesting and delightful black cherry nuance.  It is something I love, and can only find on one or two other cigars, which of course have the same type of process for the wrapper.   (Perdomo 20th anniversary maduro being one)

The way the cognac wrapper came about was interestingly caused by the 1998 hurricane Georges, which ripped through the Caribbean.  The hurricane affected farming and harvesting of tobacco, and caused a huge shortage in Fuente's super premium OpusX wrapper.  Instead of halting production of the OpusX, Carlos Fuente Jr. came up with the idea to wrap the OpusX with the cognac aged Connecticut wrapper.  That is how the Anejo was born.

I always enjoy the Anejo, and I am sure to pick a couple up when they are available.  I would recommend them to anyone.  They are not cheap, but not too expensive either, for a cigar that is in super-premium realm.  Retail price depending on the size chosen, is around $15.  Off season prices will be a little higher, and you will have to find them from individuals in cigar groups.  

Overall, the Arturo Fuente Anejo is a 9.5 out of 10!
-Greg

Sort:  

Thanks for the review Greg. I'm going to the lounge after work and smoke one of these bad boys! I'll follow up on how I like it.

Awesome! Wow that was an old review... how did you find it if I may ask?

I am brand new to Steemit. I searched under "cigars" and a couple of your posts came up. I'm happy to see that there are other cigar lovers on this thing.

Now that cigar, I have tried. I love it!

Awesome. How often do you smoke them?

Well, I don't smoke but I like this review all the same. :)

Hey thank you, I appreciate that!

Thank you jbreezy

Glad you do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66531.19
ETH 3487.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63