Quick Cigar Review - 2008 Cuban H. Upmann

in #cigars8 years ago (edited)

I found this cigar at on online shop, in their "aged" section.  The boxes were sealed and the box dates and codes all checked out.  Although I wasn't worried with this particular shop.  This cigar was rolled in 2008, and bares the old style H. Upmann band, which was often confused with the Montecristo band.  $10 each.

Wrapper:  Cuba
Binder:  Cuba
Filler:  Cuba
Size:  Corona 5.6 x 46


After cutting the cigar and testing the draw I was immediately happy that the draw was only kind of tight.  Cuban cigars are notoriously tightly rolled.  Partly because well, that is just how they are made, and partly the high demand and low quality control in Cuba.  Anyway, the cigar only required a few pokes with a thin metal skewer down the top half of the cigar to open it up more to my liking. 

(Notice the dark patch on the cigar.  I cracked the wrapper while poking for a better draw.  Nothing a little cigar glue and donor leaf cannot handle)   :)

The first part of the Magnum 46 was pungent yet mellow at the same time.  A nice balance due to the age I assume.   The smoke was cool and cloudy, with an easy - no spice - retrohale (smoke out of the nostrils).  The flavors are well balanced with much cedar, cocoa, minimal spice, and of course that distinct Cuban "twang".  The twang flavor described by me, is anise/black licorice on a Cuban cigar that is ready to smoke, and a hot-minty-zest on a cigar that is right out of the factory.  The latter I find quite unpleasant. 

This is another problem with Cuban cigars, besides the tight roll, is the fact that they rush them out.  It is due to high demand.  Most Cubans, excluding some of the higher end brands (Cohiba, Montecristo, etc) should have been rested for at least a year longer before shipment.

Anyway, I digress.  This cigar is top notch, due mostly to the aged factor.  A couple years will do wonders for a cigar, this one has 8.  It has now become so well balanced and the flavors have married perfectly.  There is nothing harsh about it, yet no flavors are muted out.   This is the reason for the most part, that I have only bought Cuban cigars already aged.  They can be found, and usually for not much more than the standard price at the time.  

The cigar holds up all the way to the end with the same lovely flavors and experience.  I would give this cigar a score of 8.5 out of 10.  With a price of $11 each, I should try and find more!


Sort:  


GASP
$10!!!
EACH?
Not $10 for a box of fifty?

HAHA! Great one. Yes unfortunately, inflation happens. :)

I love the H. Upmanns - my favorite Cuban cigar - so smooth yet super rich in taste! I should've been the @cigarhunter !!

They are great! I think my favorite Cuban cigar with price factor included would be Ramon Allones. Many are up there for me as well, including this one, Montecristo petit edmundo, El Rey Del Mundo.

Which is the super-smooth smoke - the one wrapped in a white paper? - makes it look really different - I like that one too.

I think you mean Fonseca? They are a nice smoke, and quite cheap!

Fonseca - that's it! Super smooth - my second favorite Cuban :-)

About a year ago I bought a box of the coronas. Nice little smoke and under $3 a cigar. :)

My husband says Cuban cigars are over-rated.

I would agree to a degree. They are deemed by most non cigar smokers as some kind of holy grail of cigars. They have been over taken about 20 years ago by other brands with quality, I am not talking about sales, just pure quality cigars.

i wouldn't say that cuban cigars are over-rated....when you smoke a cigar coming from cuban soils you can tell it just from the first puff...4 years now i 've been trying cuban and non-cuban cigars... you cannot compare the flavors you get.... of course there are many decent non-cuban cigars but the majority sucks...my opinion though!!

It depends on the context of over-rated... what I meant by that is, the hype that goes into Cuban cigars being some holy grail, usually from non-smokers. First question they ask is: "ever smoke any Cuban cigars?!" Like they are mythical. I totally get what you are saying though. I will stand by the point that they are rushed now, and do not have the same quality as 20 years ago. Also I agree that cuban cigars have a distinct flavor profile as I stated. Thanks for the comment, I appreciate it! Glad to see another cigar smoker on here.

I love the smell of a great cigar!

As do I! Puts me in that relaxed, ready to ponder state of mind.

Another great review, thank you. Where cuban cigars always shipped out too quickly?

Before around the year 2000, Cuban cigars were top notch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66530.02
ETH 3495.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64