A Couple of Cigars, and A Little Golf

in #cigars7 years ago (edited)

As I smoke one of my favorite go-to cigars, the Padron Churchill Maduro, I must tell you about a quaint local golf course.

Frontier Golf is a small 9-hole, par 3 golf course in the small farming town of Canby, OR, a suburb of Portland. It is labeled as a pasture-style course. If you are not familiar with the pasture-type, they are golf courses that have the distinction of not being excessively manicured but are still fun and affordable to play, and normally much smaller than typical golf courses. These courses are a surviving link to the original Scottish links courses.

IMG_4596.JPG

Frontier was a former chicken ranch before it was slowly converted into a golf course in the late 1980’s. It has a tiny clubhouse, that is simply a large room of the house in which the owners occupy. This 9-hole course borders three of it's sides on working farm fields. It features tree lined fairways and tons of character. Today, my two sons (@jbreezy, @moonie), enjoyed a quick round of golf there. My cigar and coffee lasted the hour and 30 minutes it took to play 9 short holes.

IMG_4616.JPG
careful to not slice, fenced farmland on the right

IMG_4642.PNG
In fact farmland boarders 3 sides of Frontier Golf course

The longest hole is 144 yards, and the shortest being around 90 yards, all par 3. I averaged 4 on each, but I am a newer golfer, and it was still a blast. I enjoyed my goto cigar on the "linx", and now puffing on another of the same.

FullSizeRender 7.jpg

The Padron Churchill is one of many sizes available in the base-line (Thousand Series), which is Padron's entry level and most economically priced line of cigars. Although the Thousand Series is the least expensive in Padron's offerings, quality is packed into every stick and is available in 15 sizes, ranging in price from $3.50 to $10.00.

Wrapper: Nicaraguan Maduro
Binder: Nicaraguan
Filler: Nicaraguan
Vitola: 6.75 x 46
Price: $6.50

FullSizeRender 6.jpg

The main flavor notes consist of chocolate, coffee, cashew, cream, and pepper. The pepper during a retro-hale will give you a little nose tickle, but it is in no way harsh.

Padron boasts being some of the most consistent cigars available, in fact they are the most consistent brand I know, with each cigar offering the same experience as before, time after time.

IMG_4648.JPG

The Padron Churchill Maduro is a cigar I cannot recommend enough. If you are searching for a full flavored cigar, one that won't knock you on your backside, or hit you hard in the pocketbook, any Padron standard line cigar is a must try.

I prefer the churchill size in the lineup, mostly for the fact it borders a lancero in thickness, a 46 ring size is thin for most Churchills. For me, it seems to provide the best balance of flavors in all of the thousand series.

My emoji rating: Padron Churchill Maduro: 🤗
(🤢😖☹️😕😐🙂😀😋🤗😍)
Smoke time: 1.5 hours
Cigar paired with: Cola & Appleton Estates Rum
Price opinion: 👍🏻
Recommend/buy again? 100%

Anyway, I will leave you Steemians with this sunset photo, tomorrow will be new Steemit dawn with HF19, I cannot wait to see what changes it brings, hopefully for the betterment of Steem. Cheers!

-Greg

FullSizeRender.jpg

Sort:  

never played golf or was a big cigar smoker but that makes me recosinder my life decsions so far and why I am not doing this....

😄 great comment.. it's always worth a shot!

Looks like quite the relaxing day, now coffee sounds good 😀

I just got another iced coffee today!

Good read @gregm. It made me remember going and playing the par 3 course at Chateau Elan in Atlanta with my friends. I used to love playing the par 3 courses and working on my short game. We always had a friend who would smoke a pipe while we played and I loved the smell of the tobacco he would smoke.

Thanks for the memories!

Thanks, I appreciate that.
Yes the par 3 are my favorite... I enjoy the short game aspect of golf the most. Even at the driving range I find myself chipping mostly.
A burning pipe has such a great fragrance! I would say even nicer than cigars... I would smoke more often but for me nothing compares to the taste of cigar tobacco.
Cheers! 😄

Nice to see, Greg. Looks like a nice day out.

Now we need to work on your coffee discernment. You know good cigars, but Star$$$? ;o)

😆 Well actually it was Gevelia coffee, I made a homemade iced coffee. That being said I do enjoy a starbucks latte, I get them half sweet.
Portland has a ton of fantastic coffee options though, Water Ave., Stumptown, etc.

I'm so relieved! Well, except for the half sweet Starbucks. But Starbucks needs sugar to taste good, so understandable. :P

Wish there were more 9-hole courses like this! Would allow people to get into the game in a more relaxed setting. Looks like a ton of fun.

Great point. I guess it was the first course I ever went too. Totally relaxing and no pressure. I wouldn't have known what to do at a full size course. I see kids there as young as 3 often.

Wah very steady cigar same drink ......
Enjoy a relaxing time playing golf

Hopefully I am the first person to upvote and comment your post

Thank you sir..., it was quite enjoyable indeed!

Thank you again sir @gregm continue to work and hopefully we are victorious in steemit

goood, I like photos ..
Beautiful .. the beauty of nature created by God Almighty so we always take benefit from the creature .. because everything he created is not in vain or just coincidence .. behind it all there is a lesson for people who want to think ..
Thank you very much ..

Very correct you are! Thanks for the comment!
😁

Thanks again sir, i am very happy with you ,,,? You are already experienced in steemit

That is one beefy cigar.
Great Pictures by the way

Thank you very much!
The Padron is actually quite mellow in terms of a beefy cigar, it is very nice.
😄😤

Looks like a perfect day

It was very nice thank you!😁
😤

Beautiful and relaxing day!

Indeed it was! 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93