​ A Brief Cigar Review - ​ Vudu Dark no. 9steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cigars8 years ago (edited)

I was having slight troubles selecting a cigar this evening, I wasn't in the mood to smoke one of my go-to sticks, nor anything high end. The Vudu caught my eye while scanning the contents of my humidors. The Vudu Dark is an economically priced cigar, created by master blender Jesus Fuego, exclusively for Famous Smoke Shop. 

Wrapper: Pennsylvanian Sun Grown
Binder: Nicaraguan
Filler:  Nicaraguan
Vitola: 6 3/4 x 50 (churchill)
Price:  
$3.50

I generally find that "exclusive" for a retailer really means "budget cigar", while there is nothing wrong with this as long as your expectations are not too lofty.

The pre-light aroma is very interesting, I find very mild cocoa, and a little mesquite. As of late, it seems all I have been getting from pre-light notes is a bombardment of raisin and sweet tobacco, so this is a welcome change.

The appearance of the band is nothing that turns me on, although it is somewhat cool and military-like, it offers no contrast to the dark wrapper. I am more into the bands with a classic and ornate visual aspect. The Vudu Black band is a bit too rustic, new age, and dark side looking... but that's just my personal inclination.

Immediately after toasting and lighting the Vudu, I tilt my head back while still eyeballing the cigar, My indifferent attitude toward what I was about to smoke quickly changed. I realize from first puff that this is one of those cigars that instantly hits the spot. The smoke is very inviting, cloudy, rich, and smooth. 

The flavor profile has a nice balance.., The Vudu Black starts with a good amount of unsweetened chocolate, almond, and cedar. There is a spice on the finish that is a little different, much like spearmint. The retro-hale is easy through the nasal passages, and the smoke creamy and cloudy.

The Vudu is performing well, the burn is perfectly straight, however the ash is quite flaky, it will fall off randomly. I had to wipe my pants off twice already. Hide yo shirts, hide yo pants, and hide yo shoes, cuz Vudu droppin' ash all up in hea!  
;-P

After the midway point, I am still impressed with how creamy the copious amount of smoke is, especially since this was advertised as a full strength cigar. I would say full flavored indeed, but the nicotine strength doesn't seem to live up to the hype, this is a good thing. I am not big on the dizzying nicotine buzz a few full cigars can bring.

That last portion of the Vudu Dark remains as good as the beginning. I hope I am not over-touting this cigar, it is good, but I am raving from the budget cigar perspective, and expectations. Of course it is no Padron or Fuente, even their base-line smoke. Having said that, it comes close to it, and some might prefer it. Being pleasantly surprised is at times better than smoking a higher end cigar that meets expectations. 

No new flavors to report really, or new issues. It has been solid all the way through with the same simple, yet tasty flavor profile.


Final thoughts:

Being pleasantly surprised with a cigar of low expectations always makes for a great smoking session. I mean everybody likes getting more than they expect right? If you like a full flavored, full bodied cigar you cannot go wrong with the Vudu Black. The flavor profile had a nice balance of bold flavors, the smoke was cloudy yet smooth, and not dry tasting. The Vudu burned a little quicker than I expected, I think the pack was pretty light, that would also explain the flaky ash. 

All in all, The Vudu Black is a great cigar, but nothing extraordinary, however they can beat many $7-$10 sticks I have had. At Famous-smoke.com you can buy a 5 pack of the #9 right now for $16, that is only $3.20 a stick!  Robusto even less, at only $2.40. I am ordering a bundle tomorrow. The Vudu Black is a solid cigar, and for the price, a gem!

Smoke time: An hour and 20 minutes
Cigar paired with:
Seagram 7 Whiskey and Coke
Price opinion:
Wow! that's a low price
Recommend?
Most Definitely!

(Here is where you can find them)

My overall grade: B-  
      (A+ to F-)

I appreciate your views, upvotes, follows, and resteems. Feel free to comment.., I dig interacting with fellow cigar smokers, or any who find interest in it.

-Greg 

Sort:  

Sounds like a nice Sea-Gar' (how a old shipboard mate describes them) Curious what photo program you used to produce the 'altered' color photo? - sort of a paint effect.

difficult to go wrong with the price of this one!
I stumbled upon the app a few months ago, it's called Prisma, and I think it was free. They are always adding new filters or whatever they call them. I love how it makes a picture look like a painting.

I like the alcohol pairings you have for these posts. It almost makes me want to try a few cigars. I'm just not a big fan of the smoke part.

Any update on the Dons from Costa Rica?

Thanks David! I would love to have some nicer pairings, but I spend too much on cigars to have nicer alcohol. :)

The Don Benigno's were a little delayed. I expect them by early next week. Can't wait!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71