A Brief Cigar Review - The Arturo Fuente Destino al Siglo

in #cigars8 years ago (edited)

A beautiful cigar from ornate band to the wrapper leaf. The Destino was master blended for commemoration of Fuente's 100 year anniversary.

Wrapper:  Dominican Habano
Binder:   Not Disclosed
Filler:   Not Disclosed
Size:  6  x 52 (toro
MSRP: $18

The Destino is made with wrappers from Chateau de la Fuente, it uses a Habano seed instead of the Corojo variety that is used to make the famous Fuente OpusX.  

A punch style cut provides an easy draw.  I toast the cigar and take the first few puffs....  right away I notice some spicy cocoa, and cedar notes.  There is a red pepper zest on the finish that isn't appealing to me.  I usually find anytime I get that zesty note, it is probably not properly aged.  

The Destino al Siglo is a very complex and spicy cigar.  The spicy aspect is unlike the usual Fuente.

As I get past the first 1/4 or so, the cigar takes a drastic change, and it isn't good.  The flavors turn bitter and tarish.  My mouth feels dry and overrun with a nasty black flavor.  I figure there is possibly some tar buildup at the puffing end of the smoke, so I poke it with a pipe tool.  This will usually fix any tar buildup issue. Tar buildup on a cigar is quite rare, and it usually only happens on lower end cigars that were rolled improperly, and/or those that have some bad tobacco leaf in it.   

The construction and burn were perfect, but I put the expensive cigar down after the picture above.  It wasn't pleasant, and I even woke up with a still slightly dry mouth.  I am pretty sure I received a dud, because the Fuente Destino al Siglo is a highly regarded, and rated cigar. 

I didn't even feel like taking the usually cigar smoking selfie.  My hopes were high and then dashed during last nights smoking session, especially considering the price tag.  Overall I rate this particular cigar a very low 3 out of 10.
I will have to purchase another one for a fair review.  However, it may be a month or so, it doesn't sound appetizing right now, just like Halloween candy.   ;-P

Sort:  

Hope you were using a torch lighter on that cigar!

Torch or matches only of course! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50