A Brief Cigar Review - Padron Churchill Maduro

in #cigars8 years ago (edited)

Last evening, I smoked my favorite go-to cigar, the Padron Churchill Maduro. The churchill is one of many sizes available in the base-line (Thousand Series), which is Padron's entry level and most economically priced cigar line. Even though the Thousand Series Padron is their least expensive line, quality is packed into every stick. The Thousand Series is available in 15 sizes, ranging in price from $3.50 to $10.00.

Wrapper: Nicaraguan Maduro
Binder: Nicaraguan  
Filler: Nicaraguan
Vitola: 6.75 x 46
Price: $6.50

As with every Padron, the draw is very loose, you should never use any cutter larger than a punch style, or a very small cut with a guillotine, you can always cut more if necessary. I cringe when I see smokers cut the whole shoulder off the Padron, then proceed to complain how it's hot and bitter.

Padron has a couple beloved flaws that are mostly ignored, and somewhat celebrated. One is the weak single cap that closes off the head of the cigar, it appears as though a lazy drunk cigar roller was in charge of capping every Padron. Most cigars are double, or even triple capped and completely sealed to the cigar. Padron does this on purpose, I assume the main reason is so one can tear or bite the cap off of the smoke, without the need of a cutter. Jose Padron himself says he never uses a one, he simply bites the cap off of his Padron.

Immediately upon lighting, I am greeted with the usual bellowing clouds of smoke, and the rich flavorful profile. The notes mainly consist of chocolate, coffee, nuts, cream and hot pepper. The pepper during a retro-hale will give you a little nose tickle, but it is in no way harsh.

On her journey to get in bed, my daughter stops by my office for a few expression selfies, she is such a doll. Some of the best times and conversations with my children happen during my nightly cigar. They know I will stop everything and listen, I am not going anywhere.

The Padron "church" Maduro is considered a full flavored cigar, as are all Padrons besides the Damaso (see Damaso review here). This may deter some of you newer smokers, it did for me when I first started many years ago, however, this means full flavored/body, the nicotine strength is comparable to most medium sticks. This is all an effect of how well Padron cures and ages their tobacco. Much of the nicotine strength fades away, but the wonderful flavors stay and even improve with time.

About halfway into the Padron Churchill Maduro, and the flavors are still luxurious as in the beginning. A dark cedar note appears, it is faint, and combined with a slight coconut nuance. The nuttiness has all but disappeared.

Padron boasts being some of the most consistent cigars available, in fact they are the most consistent brand I know, with each cigar offering the same experience as before, time after time. This is one reason it is a go-to cigar for me, unlike Forrest Gump's chocolates, you always know what you are going to get, and what you get will be fantastically satisfying.

I am drinking Bacardi dark rum and coke. I recommend pairing something dark and slightly sweet with the Padron Churchill Maduro. I prefer rum straight-up, if the rum is anything higher-end than this Bacardi. I love Pyrat rum, try it if you haven't, it has a nice Vanilla cola nuance, very unique. Other good parings with a cigar this chocolaty and spicy might be a vanilla latte, mocha, cola, Dr. Pepper, or maybe sweet tea. Of course it all depends on your personal preference.

As always, marvelous until the very end, the flavors of the Padron Churchill Maduro are in such fine balance. Sometimes with other cigars, I will describe the same flavors, but every cigar release is unique. Even if the same flavor notes are described, it will usually be a unique taste and smoking experience from one similarly described cigar to another.


Final thoughts:

Always a brilliant smoke, the Padron Churchill Maduro is one of my most smoked and favorite cigars. I've been wanting to post a few of my favorites on Steemit, before venturing onto another round of new-to-me cigars. I will hopefully soon review another of my go-to sticks, the Arturo Fuente Don Carlos. 

If you have smoked the Churchill Maduro, or any of the other sizes in the series, please comment, I would love to hear what you thought, good or bad. 

The Padron Churchill Maduro is a cigar I cannot recommend enough. If you are searching for a full flavored cigar, one that won't knock you on your backside, or hit you hard in the pocketbook, any Padron standard line cigar is a must try. I favor the churchill size out of the lineup mostly because it boarders a lancero in thickness, a 46 ring size is thin for most churchills. For me, it seems to provide the best balance of flavors in all of the thousand series.

My emoji rating: Padron Churchill Maduro: 🤗
(🤢😖☹️😕😐🙂😀😋🤗😍)

Smoke time: 1.5 hours
Cigar paired with: Cola & Bacardi Gold
Price opinion: 👍🏻
Recommend/buy again? 100% yes, I buy mine here at Famous-Smoke.

See my post about Padron cigars here.

Thanks for reading Steemians. I appreciate your views, upvotes, follows, and resteems. Feel free to comment.., I enjoy interacting with fellow cigar smokers, or any who find interest in it.
-Greg   

Sort:  

Yeah I've completely decapitated these a couple of times and they do hit a bit hot and harsh when you do that.
I also love the large box press Padrons as well.
I tend to pair them with a good wheat bourbon.
Have you ever tried Zaya rum ?

I love how loose the draw is, which is why I favor the thinner ring Padron.. it isn't as loose as a larger ring, and you always know it will never be plugged, although he fatter Padrons have a higher consumer rating. Oh yeah the box press are the higher end Padron's, all worth the money.

Yes, Zaya rum was great. If I remember right it has a like a burlap sack type accent on the bottle? I need nicer liquors, but right now all my spare money has been going to cigars and Steem. ​😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91