A Brief Cigar Review - Padron 1964 Exclusivo Maduro

in #cigars7 years ago (edited)

The 1964 exclusivo is the 2nd tier in the Padron line of cigars, somewhere just beyond the baseline thousand series. Available in both natural and maduro, the latter is preferred by me for it's chocolate and espresso flavors. The 1964 Anniversary has won many awards, including Cigar Aficionados #1 cigar of the year.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Prelight

Wrapper: Nicaraguan
Binder: Nicaraguan
Filler: Nicaraguan
Vitola: 5.5 x 50
Price: $ 12

As always with Padron, a small punch cut is enough to create a completely open draw. I cringe anytime I see someone make a large cut with a Padron cigar. I notice pre-light flavor notes of spice, rich coffee, and cocoa.

Flavor and Smoke

I am first greeted with a flavor profile of black cherry, dark chocolate, espresso, and a finish of black pepper. All are expected tasting notes with a Padron maduro, they are some of the most consistent cigars on the market.

FullSizeRender (4).jpg

My go-to cigar is a Padron churchill, which is the first tier, and baseline offering from Padron. At around $6.20 each, it is hard to go wrong. Having said this, the next tier of cigars, the 1926, and the 1964 (this cigar) are well worth the higher price, at least to smoke on occasion. The quality of tobacco and the longer aging provide such a luxurious and velvety smooth smoking experience.

FullSizeRender (3).jpg

The ash remains for an inch maximum before falling, but this is pretty good for Padron and their consistently brittle ash production, however the burn-line has been perfect.

FullSizeRender (5).jpg

Nearing the halfway point, the flavors are still smooth and balanced, with no one flavor dominating the others. At this point, the only big change I notice is the black cherry note has faded away, while a earthy nut nuance arrives. The finish is dry and toasty

FullSizeRender (6).jpg

At the final third, there is a good amount of creaminess on the finish, while the nutty flavors become deeper and more roasted. Normally a cigar will darken here, all the flavors noticeably becoming more towards bitter, but the Padron Exclusivo remains well balanced and tasty.

Final Thoughts

FullSizeRender (7).jpg

The Padron 1964 Exclusivo Maduro has been a staple in my humidor for quite a while now. I like to keep a few sticks set aside for a special occasion, or when the moment feels right. With a price of around $12.00, it's too spendy for an everyday smoke for me, but Padron 1964 are a high-quality cigar with balanced medium-bodied flavors. Well worth the money, I highly recommend the 1964 Exclusivo.

My emoji rating:🤗
(🤢😖☹️😕😐🙂😀😋🤗😍)
Smoke time: 1.25 hours
Strength/Body: Med-Full
Cigar paired with: Bacardi black rum, and coke.
Price opinion: 👍🏻
Recommend/buy again? Indeed

Sort:  

Good review sir smoking one right now for the first time not bad at all nice suit by the way.

12 bucks? Not bad at all for quality. Enjoy some good scotch with that!

You know it! Yeah it is a good deal overall... Their most expensive hit up to $33, but so good.

Great to see you back @gregm after a long time the Royal Cigar are back on steemit :D

Haha, thank you.. yes I have been a little busy with other projects.. but back now!

You try the Rocky Patel 1992 cigar? RP has made some stinkers lately. I guess they are riding on brand-name a little, but the Vintage 1992 was excellent!

Dude I totally agree. The 1992, and 1990 were some of my favorite cigars 5-6 years ago, but yeah then they have made some horrid blends recently. Decade and Olde World Reserve were great ones too.

I am not a huge fan of Padron, but they are a good smoke. The consistency they put behind the name is pretty reliable but the price seems "premium" whilst the smoke seems "boutique." I have not tried this particular flavor though, so I'm going to give it a go!

Have you tried Padrons baseline cigars? $4-$8 and almost as good as their premium priced ones. You are right about their consistency, it is unmatched in my opinion.

Well done explaining this. This is new to me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80