A Brief Cigar Review - Las Calavares 2016 by Crowned Heads

in #cigars7 years ago (edited)

A cigar created to honor those who have passed, the Las Calavares was introduced in 2014 by Crowned Heads, and is rolled at the famed My Father Cigars factory in Estelí, Nicaragua. I have smoked a few of the 2014, and 2015 and enjoyed them. One thing I, and many others have noticed, is that the previous runs seemed to be rushed out of the factory before they were ready to smoke. Six months of age had done them wonders. Today I see if the 2016 Las Calavares is ready.

IMG_7231.JPG

Prelight

Wrapper: Connecticut Broadleaf
Binder: Nicaragua
Filler: Nicaragua
Vitola: 5 1/2 x 54
Price: $11.25

FullSizeRender (2).jpg

Pre-light inspection time, which is merely judging a book by it's cover, or I should say, judging a cigar by it's wrapper. I see minimal veins on the wrapper, and the pack seems fine without squishy or dense spots. Pre-light scents of cocoa and sweet coffee waft from the foot.

Flavor and Smoke

FullSizeRender (6).jpg

The 2016 Las Calavares begins with heavy sweet tobacco, as well as some earthy and cedar undertones. I am not picking up much else, besides a slight white pepper.

The smoke output is very sparse. While investigating the wrapper, I notice a couple tiny holes, most likely caused by a little rough handling or shipping.

IMG_6739.JPG

A bit of donor leaf from an un-smokable cigar, and cigar repair glue always does the trick. I like to keep one or two cigars around in the humidor just for this purpose, cigars that were cracked beyond repair, plugged, or ones I know are downright disgusting.

If wrapper repair is needed and you don't have cigar glue handy, you can try good old saliva, just leave the piece of wrapper on your tongue until it is soaked and place it over the damage, some even use their unflavored chapstick. This being said, neither will work as well as the cigar glue (or pectin), or not at all with more complicated "cigar surgeries", such as a long crack at the head of the cigar.

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

The burn quickly becomes wonky, nothing a quick flame can't fix, but it confirms the fact that the construction is not high level on this particular Las Calavares.

The flavors really turn prior to the midway point, for the worse. Hmm, the taste is like gnawing on a cedar stick, and drinking day old Maxwell House or some other canned coffee. The cedar ramped up to a overpowering level, and the only other flavor is dark and bitter.

FullSizeRender (3).jpg

The nuances were never very good, but now it's simply revolting. I think it is time to put it down, and perhaps give it a try some day in the future.
😖 😫 😩

FullSizeRender (5).jpg

When cigar tragedy strikes, I always reach for a stick I know is going to be great, so a Padron Churchill to the rescue!

Final Thoughts

IMG_7226.JPG

I find the Las Calavares line of cigars from Crowned Heads to be shipped out from production too quickly, this has been the case since the 2014 series. The good news is they improve six months to a year after the release date. Even with the 6 months to a year age factored in, I can't say the almost $11 price tag is worth it, there are plenty cigars more worthy of that amount of cash. I am not sure when this particular cigar was rolled, but it has indeed been over six months from the release date.

It is possible I received a bad cigar, one that was not blended correctly, it happens on rare occasion. I cannot recommend the Las Calavares 2016, if I smoke another at a future date and my opinion changes, then I will edit this post.

My emoji rating:😕
(🤢😖☹️😕😐🙂😀😋🤗😍)
Smoke time: 45 minutes ( didn't finish)
Cigar paired with: Dark rum and cola.
Price opinion: 👎
Recommend/buy again? 👎

Sort:  

Spot on Greg
I tried on of these a wile back with about the same result only a little worse.
A friend bought me a box as a gift and as soon as I opened it I knew by the look and smell of them I was going to be disappointed :(
Rushed through production...hell some of the filler in one I took apart was still slightly green, crappy construction almost like they were done with a high speed,mechanical box press and then hand wrapped the first one I began was bound so tight in middle I couldn't get it to draw at all( the wrapper was cherry though very smooth and consistent with no veins).Rough handling,about a quarter of them were cracked at the foot and slightly flattened. Tasted like crap as well I kept getting a slight......musty taste from the get . The owner of the cigar shop I worked at also had tried them and said they were "crap".

Wow! I am glad I am not the only one with a bad experience, but that is just horrible. Where these also the 2016?

If I get another I just might take it apart and see what is going on in there!

Yes they were the 2016.
My guess is that they rushed them through the whole process, don't know if they were short and rushed the last part of the run or if the whole line is like that.

I tend to think it was a partial run misfire... meaning, you are probably right, maybe they were short on the good blend and had to substitute, because this cigar had enough age to qualify as being good, but it was not. That and I have not heard any widespread complaints.

Interesting. So that's how to repair those pesky micro holes. Good Tip.

Yes indeed! Or any cracks and such.. I have even done major reconstructive surgery on vintage sticks. 😆
This is the stuff I use, about $5 a tiny bottle.. available at most shops and online.

That cigar glue is king, works great and that little bottle last a long time.
Also excellent for gluing blunts as well...<.<...so I hear lol

Haha, nice!
Yeah they do last a long time, unless you have had a few to many drinks and knock it over 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50