A Brief Cigar Review – La Imperosa

in #cigars8 years ago (edited)

The La Imperosa is made by Crowned Heads, a boutique brand quickly gaining popularity.  I have enjoyed every single blend in the Crowned Heads line so far.  These include Four Kicks, Las Calaveras, Headley Grange, JD Howard Reserve, and Jericho Hill.

Wrapper:  Ecuadorian Habano Oscuro
Binder:  Nicaraguan   
Filler:  Nicaraguan
Size:  6 3/8 x 50  (double robusto)
MSRP: $8.75 

The La Imperosa Double Robusto is a lovely looking cigar.  The light blue band and gold embossing look great next to the smooth wrapper.  I can't think of another cigar that sports a light blue band, perhaps that is why it caught my eye.

A punch cut was enough to produce an open draw.  I like to first use a punch cutter, it provides a small clean opening.  If that is not enough to produce an open draw, I will then poke the opening from the cut with a pipe poker, or even a small screwdriver, the kind used for watch and computer repair.  That works 100% of the time unless there is construction issues such as a tight roll, or humidity issues.  

The flavor profile at the beginning develops quickly.  There is cedar and a black pepper spice on the forefront of the flavor profile.  This is a bit backwards, normally the spice is on the finish of a puff.  The background flavor nuances, behind the spice, are an unsweet caramel espresso, deep fruit, and some meatiness.  It is however a little dry tasting.  I am hoping this improves.

Side note, La Imperiosa was originally a Cuban brand from the early 1900’s,  it translates to ‘the imperative,' or, “that which is required or absolutely necessary.”  

The dry aspect of the smoke has faded away.  The La Imperosa produces a good amount of smoke.  It is pretty smooth, however not creamy and silky.  I figure this is due to the spice forefront.  The retro-hale is a bit intense on the nose.  

The flavor profile from about halfway all the way to the end includes peppermint, salt, and a little bready taste.  The meatiness and caramel nuances that I mentioned above fade away before these nuances creep up.

Overall I enjoy the La Imperosa, it is a full body cigar.  I think 6 months of rest would work wonders for the blend.  The spice would ease, nicotine content fade, and the dark meaty flavors would mellow.  I have 3 other sizes to smoke, I think I will give them a couple months and revisit.  The La Imperosa is a cigar worth trying.  

I rate it 8 out of 10

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64742.19
ETH 3169.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55