A Brief Cigar Review - Cuban Montecristo Petit Edmundo

in #cigars8 years ago (edited)

Accounting for 50% of all Cuban cigar exports, Montecristo is the most popular Havana brand. I tend to think the Monte #2 is the most loved cigar in the brand, it has a pyramid shape and is 6 x 52 in size. The Petit Edmundo is a great shorter smoke with the same ring size, at half the price of the popular Montecristo #2.

Wrapper: Cuba
Binder:  Cuba
Filler:  Cuba
Size: 4.3 x 52
MSRP: $7.60  

I first was going to review the Montecristo #3, which has a small 42 ring gauge. As many know, Cuban cigars can be tight and sometimes plugged, the #3 was one of those. I cut it, no draw, poked it, barley a draw at all.., as if I were trying to drinking a milkshake with those tiny coffee straws.
I will have to "dry-box" it. For those wondering, dry-boxing is the process of taking a cigar out of the humidor and placing it in an old cigar box, that doesn't have humidification, for hours or even days. It will draw out some of the moisture and presumably shrink the leaves and open up the draw. The most common cigars this is done to is, you guessed it, Cubans. 

Time to digress..., The review is now for the larger ring, less tightly rolled Montecristo Petit Edmundo. In fact, rolled loose enough that a small punch cut produced a very open draw, a relief indeed. 

The pre-light aroma is sweet barnyard, and pepper that tickles the nose. A cold draw only gives some hints of sweet tobacco.

I notice the usual Cuban cigar nuance of anise/black licorice, but lacking is the other note I find in most Cuban tobacco; A rich flavor of pungent, aged mustiness. I know that sounds odd and unpleasant, but it is actually quite good. Some describe it as "cuban funk". Along with the anise I enjoy a charred marshmallow, dark caramel, and dark roasted cashew as the main tasting notes. 

After an earlier whiskey and coke, I decided to pair the Petit Edmundo with a local IPA. Bridgeport Brewing, located in Portland Oregon, produces some fine beer, but so do the thirty million other local craft breweries. 

The burn line begins to get wonky after the first 20 minutes. I don't know if I would pin this on poor Cuban quality control, possibly if all sticks from the box did the same thing. It just happens, sometimes for no reason, but rarely with quality premium cigars. Oh well, a little touch up with a single flame torch does the trick.

After the halfway point, a potpourri note makes an appearance. It is almost soapy, but not too intense that it becomes unpleasant. I much prefer the sweeter floral note that some cigars have, which is more mellow like rose petals. I am not sure what to think of the potpourri, it doesn't seem to jive well with the other toasty flavors. Maybe it's the beer pairing weird, skewing the taste buds?

Overall, the Montecristo Petit Edmundo is a great cigar and the price is right. It didn't seem to be rushed out of the factory like many Cubans, it was properly aged as far as I could sense. The flavor profile was nice, even with the potpourri.., it made the smoke interesting without being a distraction. However, the construction left more to be desired with the uneven burn. 

I score it 8/10

A cigar FAQ:
Cigar sizes, what do the numbers mean?
The first number is the length of the cigar. It is measured in inches.
The second number is the width of the cigar, or ring gauge. The ring gauge is measured in 64ths of an inch.
So for example, a 5x50 cigar is 5 inches long, and 50/64 of an inch wide.

I appreciate your views, upvotes, follows, and resteems.
Feel free to comment.., I dig interacting with fellow cigar smokers, or any who find interest in it. -Greg

Sort:  

Hello @gregm,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Thank you again Steemtrail!

@gregm another great review worthy of a feature. While I am not a cigar smoker, I appreciate both the consistency and the effort of the reviews you put out.

I would like to take the opportunity to let you know the Maven Guild, focused on promoting and organically growing the social influencers of Steemit have, upvoted and resteemed this piece, and featured it on both Twitter and Facebook.

Thank you again Maven Guild!

I'm not a cigar smoker myself, but I think these posts are very well presented.

I'm curious to know - have you ever heard of or tried cigars from Don Benigno in Costa Rica? A friend of mine always raved about the thin-gauge Puritos. If I'm not mistaken, they don't make a lot of them, so they weren't easy to get a hold of - but this was several years ago. I'm not sure how much they're producing now.

Hi David!
Love this comment... because you mentioned a cigar maker I have honestly never heard of..., which is rare, (I hope that does not sound arrogant, but it is uncommon that the dynamic online cigar community doesn't mention an existing, even if a small batch cigar maker, that I have not heard of)
I of course googled it. I do not think I have ever smoked any Costa Rican tobacco. Costa-Rica is more south for the usual growing of cigar tobacco. I wonder if it provides a unique flavor profile that is new to me. Thank you @ats-david! I just ordered a sampler,
I can't wait to review a stick totally new!

Well, I'm glad I was helpful. I don't think they actually grow the tobacco in Costa Rica, though. I think the tobacco is Cuban (and I believe they use leaves from another country as well, but can't remember the specifics). The family is actually from Cuba and they were involved in cigar-making before they left for CR.

I look forward to the review! I'm curious to know if my friend really knew anything about cigars or not. He sure did smoke them a lot. I joined him occasionally, but it all just tasted like smoke to me. Some smoke was sweet, I suppose, and some was a little musty - but I couldn't tell much more than that.

I think you are right about the tobacco, it must be imported from other growers. Although not from Cuba, they wouldn't be allowed to sell in the US if that was the case.
I'm sure your friend knew what he was talking about, Don Benigno cigars seem to be very popular in the UK and South America.

What you say about the cigars you smoked with him is normal for beginner smokers. Either they are good, or they are not. Why they taste good to you is hard to figure out at the beginning, until you gain experience and smoke a lot of different kinds. Then you start to enjoy and discern certain aspects about a cigar, and pick up subtle nuances that make up the blend. All that is just icing on the cake, the cake is a great cigar. Unless its stale moldy cake ;-P

Oh and thank you for the compliment. I am so green at writing, and was very intimidated at first, but I am very passionate about cigars, so I will continue to refine and improve my writing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63702.19
ETH 2490.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67