A Brief Cigar Review – Cuban Bolivar Belicosos Finos

in #cigars8 years ago (edited)

The Cuban Bolivar brand was created in 1902.  It is based in the heart of Havana at the Partagas factory.   It features an unmatched rich flavor with its blend of Vuelta Abajo region tobaccos.  Simon Bolivar was a great historic figure from the 19th Century.  He liberated most of South America from the rule of Spain.  It is fitting that Cuba has made the blend complex and bold, one that experienced smokers seek.

Wrapper: Cuba
Binder: Cuba  
Filler: Cuba
Size: 5.5 x 62  (Belicoso)
MSRP: $11

I love a good torpedo shaped cigar.  I normally cut my cigars with a punch cutter, but since this is a torpedo it would not be practical.  A standard straight guillotine cut produces a perfect draw. This is always a big relief when smoking a Cuban cigar, which are all to common tightly rolled. The quality control in Cuba is not the best. My theory is the worldwide demand of Cuban cigars, they rush them out and hire less that experienced rollers during busy times.  

The wrapper on the Bolivar is smooth and nicely constructed.  After lighting and puffing through the first 10 minutes the flavor profile develops.  There is an abundance of smooth creamy smoke with a complex variety of flavors.  I had to write them down just to keep track.   Dark salted caramel, espresso, cocoa, hazelnut, anise (standard in all Cuban tobacco for me), and a slight spice.  It is a lot to take in, but even if you don't pick all of these out, I think you will enjoy how it all works together.  I find that sometimes we(I) get too caught up in trying to describe the cigar we are smoking, instead of just enjoying it and what is going on around me or inside of my head.

The flavor profile doesn't change more than a little for me.  It is as if these flavor notes should have come and gone at different times throughout the cigar, but that is not how it was blended.  The only difference is a small concentration of the flavor notes toward the end.

The Bolivar Belicosos doesn't seem as strong as it is made out to be.  I assumed the described strength meant nicotine strength.  It is definitely a full flavored and full body cigar, but the Bolivar is also smooth and will not knock you are your backside.   Bolivar is one of my favorite Cuban brands and never seems to disappoint.  It is a great complement to another great, but very mild Cuban, the El Rey Del Mundo.<-----read about it here

The Cuban Bolivar Belicosos Finos is a fine cigar that has a very reasonable price point.  Overall I rate it 8.5 out of 10.


Sort:  

hello how are you??.....i've tried myself one of these sticks...i can also say that its not something so special but it didn't disappoint me either!!!...
...what you say at the begining of your article about cuban rollers i can say this....when you buy cuban cigar be very careful of the fake ones....i've been in cuba and the thing that i can say for sure is that everybody can roll!!!....this is their national sport....so everybody can come to you saying this is a bolivar but in reality its not....be very careful when you buy!!!....there are so many counterfeits!!!....

Hello, thank you for the reply. Yes you are correct! If you are not sure if your Cuban cigar is authentic, then there is a 99% chance it is not. It is not just Cuba where everyone can roll, but also at US tourist vacation spots. All of these cigars are counterfeit, even most sold in stores. The only way to assure your Cuban cigar is the real deal is to purchase at a La Casa del Habano store (LCDH), or order SEALED boxes only, from vetted websites. Sealed boxes cannot be counterfeited, this is how I purchase my Cuban cigars.

Nice looking cigar. I want to buy cubans, what do you mean when you say boxes can't be counterfited?

Well let me clarify, they can be counterfeited, however, I meant it is the only way they can be verified as authentic, aside from purchasing at a genuine Habanos store. I'll write a quick blog today how to guarantee your box of Cuban cigars is authentic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52