A Brief Cigar Review - Chillin' Moose by Foundry

in #cigars7 years ago

I purchased a box of the Chillin Moose after noticing one of my humidors was half full. Needing to restock it, I found 3 boxes of cigars, each under $50 at a box sale advertised on famous-smoke, one of these was the Chillin' Moose. Due to it’s very low price yet satisfying flavors and smoke, the Chillin' Moose has been a cigar raved about on many Facebook cigar groups. I had tried a different size around a year ago, but did not share the sentiment. Now I try a smaller Corona size for review. 

Wrapper: Connecticut Habano Rosado
Binder: Ecuador Sumatra
Filler: Nicaraguan, Dominican, US Broadleaf, and Mexican San Andres
Vitola: 5.25 x 45 (corona)
Price: $2.10

Pre-light

The prelight aroma reminds me of a sweet rye whiskey, with a slight cocoa note as well, quite pleasant. A punch cut provides a perfectly open draw.  

Flavors and Smoke

The flavor profile begins quite mellow, yet still has discernible notes. Mostly I notice cedar, almond, slight cocoa, and a very different earthy-base tasting flavor on the finish.. The best way I can describe it is like basil tomato. Very strange for a cigar, but interesting. 

I notice, as my shirt now indicates, the cigar has a very unpredictable and flaky ash. The hand feel is light and has a good amount of give, I think it is due a somewhat loose roll.

I am already nearing the halfway point and the flavors have not changed one bit, I imagine this is going to stay an un-complex cigar. There isn’t anything wrong with that, I guess it all depends on your mood.

The smoke output is cloudy with a retro-hale not super easy, but also not harsh. Again, no big changes to report.


Finally, a slight change in the flavors, the odd basil tomato note takes on more of a graham cracker nuance, with the cocoa increasing slightly. Although, all around it is still a one dimensional smoke. 

The construction was on point all the way to the end.


Final thoughts

For a $2 cigar it is hard to go wrong with a Chillin' Moose. Especially a $2 cigar that provides good construction including an easy draw, and a near heavy smoke output. What you save in money comes at the cost of a somewhat blandness to the flavor profile, as well as a general taste of un-refinement. That being said, many people enjoy the Chillin’ Moose, and I do not regret for a second the price I paid for a box. They will be perfect during daytime yard work, to give out to friends, or for a preliminary smoke to my featured evening cigar.

My emoji rating for The Chillin' Moose: 🙂
(🤢😖☹️😕😐🙂😀😋🤗😍)

Smoke time: 60 minutes
Cigar paired with: R&R whiskey and coke
Price opinion:  👍🏻
Recommend/buy again? Indeed
You can find them here at famous-smoke

Sort:  

Sounds like a good daily grinder.
Most times when I find a two dollar cigar they are so poorly constructed ....
Also was looking for a good cigar to pass out to friends , can't stand it when I see them take a few puffs and ditch one of my twenty dollar Cubans O.o
Makes me a little cranky lol
Good post dude !!

Haha, oh yes I have been there. If I ever let a newer smoker choose from a humidor it is designated just for that, otherwise I hand them a few cigars to choose from.
Yeah the Chillin' Moose has been spot on with construction, my son has smoked about five and all the same. He really likes them. A daily grinder stick indeed.

Love the name of the cigar. :-)

Haha I know it is pretty cool. My son bought a box as well, he really likes them.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.75 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70