A Brief Cigar Review - Avo Synchro Nicaragua

in #cigars7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians, this fine Saturday afternoon I am reviewing The Avo Synchro. I was able to score 10 of these beauties at half price on the secondary market, Facebook cigar groups are a good way to find smokin' deals and hard to find cigars, but I hope after communities, Cigar groups migrate to Steemit.

The Avo Synchro Nicaragua, now owned and rolled at the Davidoff factory, is not only the first Avo to be box pressed, but also the first Avo to contain Nicaraguan tobacco.

IMG_7857.JPG

Prelight

Wrapper: Connecticut Ecuador
Binder: Dominican
Filler: Nicaraguan, Peruvian, and Dominican Republic
Vitola: 6 x 54 (Toro)
Price: $9.75 (my price: $5)

The Synchro has a very square box press, the firmness has quite a bit of give but is not squishy, and while the wrapper leaf shows some seams, it is as soft as velvet.

74C0FBEA-CF59-4A6F-BADC-C1BD6549508A.jpg

Pre-light scents of chocolate covered raisin emanate from the foot. I also smell a slight apricot and prune on the wrapper itself.

Flavor and Smoke

326E54DD-C8D0-4F5A-9E04-E4951F51B749.jpg

Huge billows of smoke are produced by the smoldering Avo. These plumes are creamy and smooth, a retro-hale can be done comfortably with the complete puff. If you want some info and tips about retro-hailing, check out my blog about it!

This mellow cigar has a flavor profile with so much going on. First, I sense a cocoa flavor that seems to be infused with a mild white pepper, then a little peppermint zest that is splendidly mellow. After that, I pick up notes of wheat and nuts, finished by a slight nuance of cedar. These all work delightful together to create a lovely balanced and complex flavor profile.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Starting the 2nd third or so, the Avo Synchro Nica develops a buttery coffee with cashew note while the cocoa fades. The peppermint is still around. Normally for me, minty zest notes are unappealing, but this peppermint is delicate and smooth, therefore it adds a nice touch.

IMG_7752.JPG

I am puffing around the midway point, and am amazed how cloudy the Avo is, especially for a mild-medium strength cigar. The smoke continues to be cool and smooth. The cedar/woodsy notes make a move to a more prominent spot in the flavor profile, while the peppermint chases close behind. The cocoa and nuts now mingle around in the middle. A delicious coconut note now appears on the finish.

Just a quick hello:

Hitting the final third and I must say, this cigar is quite impressive, complexity is king with the Avo Synchro. The rate of burn is pretty swift, this is no surprise considering the light pack that I noticed before cutting and toasting.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Nearing the end, a dark espresso note arrives at the forefront of the flavor profile, accompanying is the cedar finished with peppermint that has been there all along. The rest of the previous notes are now melded together and darkened, probably making up the majority of the espresso note. I did have an issue removing the band, it seems it has been pasted with a surplus of glue, and some must have gotten on the wrapper.

Final Thoughts

FullSizeRender.jpg

The Avo Synchro Nicuragua is a complex, smooth, flavorful, and well constructed cigar. I found the flavor profile to be one of the best I have enjoyed in quite sometime. The actual nicotine strength of the cigar is mild, while the flavors and body are medium to full. I would recommend retro-haling this cigar as much as possible to enjoy the beauty of it's wide range, and balanced flavors.

The construction was on point which provided a razor sharp burn, the ash held on long and strong, requiring no touch ups or relights. However, if one was to puff this cigar at too high of a rate it may get hot, bitter, and squishy. Enjoy this delicate flavor profile anytime you are in the mood for a luxurious smoke at a decent price.

I thoroughly enjoyed the Avo Synchro Nicaragua!

My emoji rating:😋
(🤢😖☹️😕😐🙂😀😋🤗😍)
Smoke time: A swift one hour
Cigar paired with: Gevalia Coffee with milk and chocolate syrup
Price opinion: 👍🏻
Recommend/buy again? Yes, there must be a reason that everywhere I have looked, at least some sizes are back-ordered.

Sort:  

Awesome review @gregm. Not a cigar smoker, but I can appreciate how your reviews have improved over time. This is a great one.

Upvoted and shared on Twitter and Facebook.

Thanks @lpfaust, I really appreciate that comment, and the shares. I will continue to strive for improvement. 👍
Cheers!😤

Great review.
I'm now following for more.
Cheers & Steem on!

I appreciate it Hammaraxx!
Cheers! 😤

A good cigar, but it is a little too mild for my taste.

I can see that, I wonder if we should have let them rest from shipping before smoking. This was the best one yet.

Nice post, very classy.

Thank you @armen
Cheers!

I was just looking at that one a couple of days ago but went with the AVO 90th classic cover instead.....now I'm going to have to go back and get the Synchro.
Oh also...
"However, if one was to puff this cigar at too high of a rate it may get hot, bitter, and squishy. "
Where you talking to me LOL
Great post dude.

😆 yes a warning for you! LOL nah, I just know that this one would be a problem over-puffed. It would be a shame to ruin the great notes going on in it.

How was the 90th? I don't think I have had that one.

Haven't smoked it yet, I'm collecting some for my birthday next month.
Thought I would have a night of great food, whiskey and cigars and have everyone do reviews and tasting notes to post along side mine here on Steemit. Oh and there will be poker.

Thanks for the review @gregm after having smoked one of these I added it to my rotation of smokes.

I only have one left out of my 10 I recently purchased. A great smoke, especially if you can find at a good deal.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.84 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 14 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thanks for the info screenname!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77