A Brief Cigar Review - Ashton Aged Maduro

in #cigars7 years ago

Due to the wrapper that covers it, the Ashton Aged Maduro is a limited production cigar. This dark maduro leaf originates from the best of Ashton’s supply, tobacco that is never rushed, and all naturally aged. Good afternoon Steemers, now I toast this Aged Maduro, and write up a review.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Prelight

Wrapper: Connecticut Broadleaf
Binder: Dominican
Filler: Dominican
Vitola: 5.5x 44
Price: $8

The color of the maduro wrapper is splotchy and un-uniform, varying in shade from a deep tan to a dark oily brown. I wonder if this is the result of such a natural aging process.

The texture is rough to the touch, with an overall rustic look. The wrapper leaf with such Large veins and toothy bumps seems to be intentionally overlooked, hopefully this means it is too tasty to not finish a cigar in.

IMG_1637.JPG

The Ashton is very firm when squeezed. Once clipped, the draw is plenty open, a relief for a tightly packed smaller ring gauge cigar.

Flavor and Smoke

IMG_1629.JPG

After a quick and easy toast and light, wonderful notes of sweet nuts, chocolate, and a small amount of cedar make up the forefront flavors. A spice on the finish is a light cinnamon, just enough to satisfy. The retro-hale is easy, and recommended for this flavor profile.

The Ashton Aged Maduro has a wonderful balance, just the right amount of sweet, spice, savory, and overall luxurious tasting tobacco.

FullSizeRender (3).jpg

After the first third, I am noticing a slight transition. The notes of nuts darken into more of a deep roast Brazil nut, and the sweetness turns up a notch hanging mostly on the finish, all in all, quite delightful.

Hello Steemians!

Smoke output is in the medium range, not too little, and yet not cloudy. I usually smoke in my lounge, I am currently enjoying this lovely stick in my backyard on this lovely 85 degree summer afternoon here in Portland.

IMG_1696.JPG

As the burn line makes it’s way past the halfway point, the nutty notes take the primary spot on my palate without being overpowering. The remaining flavors swiftly deepen and seem to meld together.

I would say the body of this Ashton is medium to full. After expelling each puff I am left with a creamy, sweet texture that lingers on my palate. The finish is extremely long for the darker notes. Normally I prefer a short crisp finish to each cigar puff, but this is a nice change, and all pleasant nuances.

FullSizeRender (4).jpg

Nearing the band, the burn-line is beginning to have trouble keeping uniform. My puff-rate may have been on the slow side for the previous while.

Sweet notes dissipate as more bitter espresso notes burst to the forefront. The dominant nutty nuance is transitioning into a more cedar-like quality.

FullSizeRender (5).jpg

As I near the final portion of my Ashton Aged Maduro, it seems to be having trouble holding on to the fantastic flavor qualities I have been previously enjoying. All flavors darken and meld together more quickly than I was hoping, yet I am still able to identify cedar and a faint amount of sweetness. Long gone is the wonderful nuts, chocolate, and cinnamon.

Final Thoughts

FullSizeRender (6).jpg

The Ashton Aged Maduro is a fantastic cigar with qualities unavailable in most of the Ashton line. I now see why the rustic and veiny wrapper was used, regardless of the lack of refined beauty. The flavor profile is simply scrumptious with perfect balance.

While this wonderful profile ends all too quickly, it will delight you for over half of the length, and after never get putrid or bitter.

The price point is worth every penny, if you enjoy Ashton Cigars, you will indeed enjoy The Aged Maduro.

My emoji rating: 😋
(🤢😖☹️😕😐🙂😀😋🤗😍)
Smoke time: One hour
Cigar paired with: Starbucks Iced Vanilla Latte
Price opinion: 👍🏻
Recommend/buy again? Most definitely

Thank you for the up-votes, follows, and resteems, now time to tend to my marinated chicken legs on the grill.
FullSizeRender (1).jpg

Sort:  

Keep adding food pairings! Hah
Also would love to see some reports on cigar-related things like humidors, holders, ashtrays, etc. Some of my friends are big on cubans and a few gift ideas would be super useful

Well right now I am eating a KFC chicken pot pie, then I will have a Padron Maduro. 😆 😂

Good ideas, I have been thinking on how to add some variety, I am new to writing, it has been a learning experience yet fun. Thanks for the input!

Great post....and a little scary <,<
I smoked the Victor Sinclair you sent me this afternoon with a vanilla latte and then went over to a friends house to game for the afternoon and he was BBQing chicken. Now as I write this I'm looking at a bottle of PVW 12 yr. old wheat bourbon and another cigar... >,>
Think I'll skip the second cigar till tomorrow though.... just to be a little different lol

Great minds think and do alike! 👍

I'm eating lunch now then time for a smoke! 😤

Cigar, vanilla latte & grilled chicken legs..😋

Then another cigar and bourbon!
😁

Vanilla latte sounds good right now

Yum! This post made me far too jealous! Relaxation at it's finest!

Thank you! I really enjoy my daily cigar. Keeps my mind even 😄

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.20 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55515.17
ETH 2501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30