7 Pointers for Newer Cigar Smokers

in #cigars8 years ago (edited)

Here I offer a few suggestions and encouragements to the newer, or yet to be cigar smoker. Part of this stems from repeat discussions I notice on internet cigar forums and social media groups, then some are simply what I recommend.


1) Never inhale a cigar on purpose,


like never, ever, ever, ever. This may be obvious to some, even those who don't smoke cigars, but it is a question often asked. The tobacco make up of premium cigars is 100% natural and unaltered, without chemicals or additives. The lack of additives to cigar tobacco causes the smoke to be harsh on the lungs, plus it contains a large quantity of nicotine. 

On the other hand, cigarettes are chemically treated with who knows what, to make inhalation smooth and easy. Cigar smoke is meant to be savored, by taking the smoke into the mouth, and allowing the palette to taste the great nuances, then expelling the smoke through the mouth and/or nose. Nicotine will be absorbed by the mouth mucous membranes without causing lung damage, but of course nicotine isn't the main reason to smoke cigars.

2) A humidor is not the only cigar storage option.

Large Tupperware or even a cooler can be a makeshift "humidor", in fact, many prefer it. The only caveat is they have a propensity to become too humid, this is because they lack the Spanish cedar to absorb and release excess humidity. This is easily solved with Boveda packs, they absorb and release humidity as needed to the exact percentage you choose. I recommend the Boveda 69% packs. They last a long time in Tupperware, and can even be recharged even though they are meant to be disposable. I will blog about that in the future. Boveda can be bought for a great price at famous-smoke here, I use them in all 5 of my regular humidors, and Tupperware if I have overload. I never have to worry about the RH %. If you choose a standard humidor, here are a few great and inexpensive starter humidors.


3) Don't over-puff your cigar,

it will turn hot and bitter. Instead, puff at the average rate of once or twice per minute. Slower draws keep the cigar cool, which results in a smooth smoke, and allows you to pick up the flavors that the cigar blender intended.

4) Don't light your cigar with a standard Zippo..,


or any other non-purified flame source such as a candle, tiki torch, or a burning Starbucks during a protest 😜. I would suggest choosing matches, butane torches, or cedar strips. If you must use a disposable lighter such as a bic (yes it contains butane, but it's not very pure), it's ideal to light cedar strips or other clean wood with it first, let it burn a little, then light the cigar. 

Non-pure fuels will taint your cigar, and you will be left tasting the fuel (at least at the beginning of the cigar), and none does this worse than Zippo lighter fluid.


5) Start with sampler packs,

it will help you get to know your tastes. The pack pictured above is only $6.99 online here at Famous-Smoke, I just purchased 2. Of course these are not super premium cigars, but it is difficult to go wrong at $1.20 each. It's better to chuck a $1.20 cigar in disgust, vs. a $15 super premium you thought you would enjoy. 

Every large online retailer has what seems like an endless variety of samplers to choose from. I would suggest picking a few, you will quickly begin to realize some favorites, and types you dislike. Sampler packs are a great place to start your cigar smoking journey.


6) Join an online cigar community.

That is until Steemit adds communities, then hopefully we all migrate here. Facebook has a number of great groups, and a few rotten ones. Feel free to comment or message me if you would like me to suggest a group or two. It is a great way to not only learn, but to build friendships, get the latest news, buy/sell/trade cigars, enter contests, and just simply dive into the cigar community. 


7) Smoke what you like, and like what you smoke
Everybody has different tastes and reasons they smoke cigars. If you are into the infused cigars such as Drew Estate's acid line, then enjoy them! Or perhaps you have been smoking forever, but still smoke the budget $1.50 per cigar bundles, because the taste of any tobacco works, and you could care less about super premiums and different flavor notes. The point is, be true to what you like, don't worry about those snobs or "know-it-alls". 


Thank you for reading, stay tuned for more cigar smoking tips, or add your own in the comments!

Sort:  

Wow!! Awesome ceegar post!! And cool pics too!! I got to smoking cigars about 15 years ago after a friend from Las Vegas handed me, and I didn't know it at the time, about $200 worth of prime cigars! Never smoked before that, but have been enjoying them since! Great article for a newbie. Thanks of posting!

Hi Nick, thank you I appreciate it!
Whoo $200 worth of cigars! Very nice... Vegas has a couple good cigar shops off the strip, on strip of course they are inflated like everything else.
What are some of your favorite cigars?

In terms of brands--Rocky Patel, Partagas, Padron, Arturo Fuente...and more! I'm really fond of maduros. But since I've been in Malaysia since 2010, where good cigars are double, triple, the price in the US, I've have resorted to smoking a pipe. Pipes are good, but cigars are my favorite. Again, great post!

Oh yes, great brands you picked. Padron and Fuente are my top two, followed by My Father/Don Pepin, but RP has a bunch of great ones.

That's right, I remember you telling me about cigar taxes in Malaysia. Some states are as high as 83% here. You might want to check into CigarsOfHabanos.com, they ship from switzerland tax free, I just don't know about customs. They are mainly a Cuban retailer, but they also have Padron, Fuente and the like. Ravi, the owner, is a trustworthy guy.

I'll check into them!! Thanks! Wait, just checked! Free worldwide shipping!! I think customs is ok up to 200 g of tobacco. Thanks again!!!

Awesome! CigarsOfHabanos is my favorite way to buy Cubans here in the USA, tax free, guaranteed delivery, I mean, that would be my favorite way if I did such a thing....Hello Blockchain!​😜

Do you ever order from Iwan Ries in Chicago? I've smoked their pipe tobacco quite a lot and ordered some cigar samplers. It's quite a great store to visit, too.

I normally buy from the retailers in cigar tax-free states such as Pennsylvania where the big 3 are located, or smaller retailers who are active in the online communities. I haven't ordered from Iwan Ries in Chicago because I assumed it was a high tax area, I just looked and the prices are really good. I am going to have to make an order with them in the future, thanks for the tip!

You're welcome! I've always enjoyed doing business with them. They have great customer service and their Iwan Ries brand pipes and tobacco are terrific. When I lived in Chicago, I loved visiting their store.

Doing a little research, they seem to be highly regarded by almost everyone. I think I will try their pipe tobacco on my next cigar order... It's been so long since I have smoked my pipes.

This is just the article I needed to read. :-)

Glad you enjoyed it, thanks for reading @seablue!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74