You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CICADA 3301 | An Exclusive Look At Who Could Be Behind The Internets Most Mysterious Puzzle

in #cicada33017 years ago

The problem with their approach is that biometrics (of which genetic info falls into), are just a password that you can never change, but which is instantly disclosed to the entire world. I've read what they've written and I don't see that they've bothered to address this problem. Same with Humaniq.

Remember, a biometric is just the result of a set of inputs from sensors. If you can fake that input, you can completely bypass any sort of biometric.

To my mind, a lot of these guys have big ideas, but no real clue about how weak biometrics actually are and thus, how weak their security actually is.

Sort:  

Never thought about that, feel kind of foolish now but that is a great point.

I ran over this when looking into it some more. Seems there are viable ways to counter this:
https://www.scribd.com/document/333701765/Fake-Biometric-v-2

Yes I totally agree. From the look of it they have spent quite a few years researching and putting this concept together. I guess the have thought about this weakness.
From what I gather they actually want to use the A G T C to encrypt data somehow. It's definitely an interesting concept that I think we will see more ideas like this in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58416.09
ETH 2514.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34