Message From The Stake President

in #church5 years ago (edited)

It is was around Christmas time our Stake President gave a talk. I heard him give talks as our Bishop but this talk was infront of a much larger group in a much larger building.

The message was to encourage us to reach out to those who might be in need of fellowship.

The Stake President talked about a miserable Christmas he had several years ago. He spent it alone after his wife die.

Near that time someone reached out to him, a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This friend reached out to him and reminded him that despite his circumstance Jesus loved him.

Our former Bishop ultimately decided to increase his level of participation in the Church of Jesus Christ.

This visit had a profound effect on the first Bishop I had ever met. His decision to become more active in the Church affected me. I saw his example, his dedication, and his faith in Jesus Christ as our beloved Bishop, and now as our Stake President.

Before his talk I never imagined such a struggle.

I agreed that reaching out to people who might need encouragement, like our new Stake President, needed many years ago was the right thing to do.

It hit me right way:

What was my aunt up to?

As a 13 year old I heard she went crazy, that she got naked, opened everyone's mailbox, then wanted sex from her dedicated, and now very concerned, husband.

Were her and her husband still alive? Was she really crazy? I have no idea.

Finding her and meeting her became my top priority about a year ago.

My uncle and the Lutheran pastor who baptised me at 9 years of age have been no help in finding her, despite her being a charter member of Holy Spirit Lutheran Church in Kirkland, WA.

Last time I talked to her, she was 38 and I was 13. She is about 64.

As God as my witness, I am going to find her.

Update 2019-08-07:

I took my Aunt and Uncle to Sam's Tavern over the weekend. It was so great to see them. My aunt told me it was the most expensive grilled cheese sandwich she ever heard of. It was $9.00.

I don't think they get out much. I hope to go again with them this weekend.

I was always told she was crazy when I was a kid. I think her family has much greater problems than she does.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63166.66
ETH 2575.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77