Telekinesis, Episode 1 - by Alex Porras

in #chronicle7 years ago (edited)

“Telekinesis.”, I muttered softly to myself as I walked out of the movie theatre. Telekinesis, so that’s what it is… It even works in the same basic sense. I suppose it’s only natural how easily a fictional movie can explain what’s going on better than anything in reality.
The movie was Josh Trank’s “Chronicle”; a telekinetic epic about three teenage boys stumbling upon some unknown object underground and emerging with the ability to move things with their mind. I thought more about the movie as I walked towards my car, habitually unlocking the door from the inside and opening the door before I got there. Honestly it hadn’t crossed my mind to check and see if anyone would be watching. Most would shrug it off as their eyes playing tricks on them anyway. Slumping down into the driver’s seat, I start the car and begin to head home. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t insanely curious on whether I could accomplish flight, solely because it was shown in the movie.

-It’s worth a shot.-, said a voice in my head, and yeah I suppose it is. It’s only a little after 11 o’clock anyway, so it’s not like someone would see me. Yeah, it’s definitely worth a shot.

After haphazardly navigating traffic, I finally pull up to the house. I don’t even pay attention to walking in, going up the steps, and into my room until I’m already there.

“This could end badly…” I say aloud to myself. “But really, what’s the worst that could happen?” I chuckle. Not sure why I needed the self-reassurance. I make my way back outside, locking the door behind me and then checking to see if I have my keys on me. Typical Alex, always waiting until it’s too late... Luckily I’ve got them, and I carry on towards the park down the street.

It’s nearly a quarter to midnight by now… the park is deserted. Unfair, it’s always deserted. No one comes to the park anymore. As I make my way down one of the steep hills towards the shelter house I stuff my hands into my jacket pockets. I didn’t think it’d be so chilly. Flicking my hand ever-so-slightly in my pocket, I push branches out of my footpath, tossing rocks here and there as I come up on the shelter.

“Hmm, where to start…”

Off to the side I see a semi-large boulder; I figure it must weigh at least fifty pounds. I think I’ll start with that. Taking my hands out of my pockets I reach out slightly, gripping an imaginary rock as my eyes settle on the real deal. As I pull up a little bit, an approving grin breaks through my concentrated expression as the rock lifts away from the ground shakily. I’ll never get tired of this. I imagine the rock being encased in something form-fitting as I move it around to prevent it from spinning in the air. After a few moments of messing around with the rock I set it down.

“On to the next stage… human trials.” smirked my inner comedian. I close my eyes and go through the procedure as I did with the rock… I feel my clothes press against my skin as I envelope myself in what I like to call a force field.

Easy enough… now… up, up and away?

A scary concept, but my excitement gets the better of me and I jerk six feet upward. Whiplash. All at once, I lose concentration and “grip”, and crash on the ground.

“Damnit!” I yell, as a jolt from the collision rides up my spine. I need to calm down. Standing up and brushing myself off, I prepare the process again. I get up into the air this time, slowly, and hover. Doing my best to not get overexcited, I smile.

“Eh… it’s pretty difficult to breathe though…” I note. Maybe if I can just… open a hole or something in the “force field”. The second this crosses my mind, it’s as if said-hole appeared. Suddenly I can breathe easily again.

This is going a lot better than I expected.

-Written by Alex Porras, inspired by Chronicle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39