Spent and Tired

in #chronicillness6 years ago (edited)


On day 55 of @mariannewest's daily freewrite, the prompt was 'spent and tired'. I wrote a story that day. I had not known many people here on Steemit yet. No one really knew I had Fibromyalgia.

The story that came out of me that day is a day in my life. It is something I deal with every day. From this illness and other things that have happened in my life before I got sick, I try to take one day at a time. Enjoy each day for everything that it brings to me and everyone it brings to me.

Chronic illness is not widely talked about by the people that have it because they get tired of explaining and people not really listening to what they are trying to explain to them. There is not a magic pill a person with a chronic illness can take to make it go away. If there was, I know so many that would pay any price for just one day to be 'who' they use to be.

This video is not for sympathy but to raise awareness. What you see and hear is not always what is really going on in a person's life. No one lives another person's life but them. Kindness and bringing a smile to a persons face can go a long way in anyone's day.

If you can find the time, the video, while not pretty, will give you insight into what a person with a chronic illness goes through daily if you listen to the words.



Spent and Tired



At the end of the day, she sat alone by the window just breathing in the cool air.

It had been a long and tiring day for her, just as every day was now.

She had always been a morning person. Now, she dreaded the mornings. Her day would start, as it always did, with pain. The whole day then was spent on how to manage that pain. To make it through another day.

By afternoon she could move a bit more but the price for moving compounded and rolled into the next day so there was always a balance to be maintained. To be able to get done what needed to but still be able to live some kind of a life.

A life that had gotten smaller as she got older and sicker.

The illness came to her slowly but it took its toll on her friends and family.

All thought she was making it up. No one could possibly be sick as much as her. They stopped asking and listening. Making her world all the smaller.

It was a hard thing for the woman to deal with.

One that use to have so many friends.



Peace,

Snook



Music by: https://noisetrade.com/hill





Please take the time to vote for @enginewitty as a Witness.
He is a man that believes we all should be just who we are.
He goes out of his way to support others that stay true to themselves.
That kind of man I will stand behind any day of the week.

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Sort:  

Thank you for posting this. God bless you Snook! Sending you some warm feelings!

Thank you HUGE hugs

Fibromyalgia is a difficoult to diagnose and to treat disease.. it wasn't even recognised as a disease since recently. Thank you for raising awareness on this, God bless you Snookie and I truly hope that an effective treatment will be soon found.. with love ☺️

Thank you for watching and your beautiful comment.

I truly hope that an effective treatment will be soon found

So do I <3

Love can heal.

So true :-)

Awwa. I love your song. It is very sad. But it is good to talk about it, raise awareness, and meet others who are dealing with the same issues :) Love you much!!!

raise awareness, and meet others who are dealing with the same issues

it's what I hope to do <3 sorry you ahd to watch a sad video but thank you for that! <3

Sometimes things are sad but still beautiful to watch and also necessary in order to better understand..

I love you still... :D

Your post snook is very good and I like it.

I will follow you, you can check my article about Sycamore Leaf and give me your feedback!

My article Sycamore Leaf

Keep it up.

I feel for you, @snook. I understand and send waves of comfort and love. I relate with my chronic migraine. So much we leave unspoken, so thanks for being so transparent with this challenging illness. Much love.

I So wish those injections had helped you :'(

and I'm sending much healing your way!

Thank you very much for your positive thoughts... Supposedly those injections will help me down the road maybe in 3 months or maybe 6 months or 9. I am incredibly exhausted right now and apart from work this week all I have done is come home and sleep. Tonight Jeff took me out for a nice dinner, but here it is at 8 and I'm asking to go home and go to bed. I know how you feel about your fibromyalgia because that is how much strength I have right now. I'm super frustrated because I'm not able to keep up with my writing or, even, my life... at least I haven't called off work, but I'm barely functional there. :p much love.

I hear you :'(

just be good to you <3

The day that there is a cure can't come soon enough! My heart aches for all that you've been through and how you have to get through each day. HUGE HUG I truly wish that your friends and family had believed you and stood by you.

Bless you for being you my sweet Snook! You give so much kindness to so many and deserve the same! Always know that you're loved and that there are going to be so many that are thankful to know that they aren't alone in dealing with this because of you! 💞 LOVE YOU!

You give so much kindness to so many and deserve the same!

I get kindness back from you many.....YOU sweet friend make me blush and wonder who you are talking about most times loll

Love You!!

Thank you for sharing your experience with chronic illness. I have Hashimoto's disease, and even though it is largely controlled with a prescription, I still need a great deal of sleep and have tired days now and then. People who are chronically healthy just don't "get" chronic illness.

People who are chronically healthy just don't "get" chronic illness.

Perfect statement!!!!!!!!! I could not agree more!! and I'm sorry to hear you too have something that doesn't go away :( hugs but we both like to bake soooooo being great experimental bakers must be why we have to deal with the other.we cannot be GREAT at everything LOLLLL

That's a work of art, Snook. You capture the condition perfectly and how our lives are changed by it. Great job. I understand what you mean.

Anj x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68688.65
ETH 3764.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51