Is being uncomfortable worth saving a life?

in #christmas7 years ago (edited)

As the holiday season approaches I have been thinking a lot about generosity and the heart of gift giving. In today’s society it has become the norm to show how much you care about someone solely off the gift you give them. You aren’t going to purchase an expensive or even thoughtful gift to a coworker like you would a family member. As I was thinking about this topic I was hit with the idea of giving a more meaningful gift this holiday season.

I have always had in interest in health and how as human beings we are able to help save each other through generosity with our bodies. For example through blood or bone marrow donation. Giving blood is a simple procedure that takes about an hour of your time. Bone marrow donation is a more complex process and is based off of a specific patient who is matched to you regarding HLA typing (DNA). Both of these things require some uncomfort and that is what I want to share.

When I think about donating these things the first thing that pops into my head is, “but won’t that hurt!?” I think an honest answer to that statement is, yeah you’re probably going to experience some uncomfort or maybe a little pain. But isn’t that worth it? These people who are in need didn’t choose to go through what they’re going through and you could be their chance at survival. All I want to say is maybe our short term uncomfort is worth giving someone life.

So as the holiday season quickly comes and goes I just want to challenge you to atleast give thought to the idea of donating your time, money, or comfort for someone who really needs you.

The links are posted below if you want to read more information about either donation I mentioned above.

bethematch.org
redcrossblood.com

Happy Holidays! 70FB4126-2737-4E5C-9397-8521CD961D4E.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60608.46
ETH 2637.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62