And so it’s Christmas… finally

in #christmas6 years ago

It’s Christmas morning in New Zealand now, and for once I don’t have any work to do for a while. It’s raining outside, so I’m not going for a run. At last I have some time where I can start to catch up on all the writing and blogging and stuff that has been left on the shelf while I dealt with the day to day tasks of paying the bills.


image source

This has been a long hard year for me, and I’m glad to finally be able to take a break and relax for a bit. I’ve got a couple of weeks off over the Christmas / New Year period and I plan to make the most of it.

I need to get back into the habit of writing and reading stuff on Steemit. But it’s one of those things, when you’re exhausted, that last thing you want to do is spend half an hour hunting for your reading glasses so you can read stuff. (Yes, it has gotten to the point where I need to wear reading glasses just to see the computer screen. Damn I’m old.)

So far this morning I’ve had a light breakfast – we are off out for lunch to a Greek friend’s house, so I need to leave lots of room for yummy food. I exchanged cards with my wife (no presents this year because I have enough undies and socks and she doesn’t need a new washing basket yet hehe. Yes that is a joke) and so now we are just chilling out and relaxing. It’s good to be able to do that for a change.

Wherever you are, I hope you are having a lovely Christmas and you get some time to just relax and unwind and enjoy life. Take some time to hug those you care about and let them know how much they mean to you. It’s a time to rebuild and strengthen those bonds that make the struggle all worthwhile.

And keep an eye out for more from me as I slowly get myself back into the habit of writing and blogging.


Steemit etiquette

  • Do write meaningful comments
  • Do discuss the topic in the post
  • Do tell me about how we share an interest
  • Do take the time and effort to actually read the post before commenting
  • Don't ask for follows
  • Don't ask for votes
  • Don't say you have voted for a post and then not vote for it
  • Don't say you have resteemed a post and not resteem it
  • Don't write short coments like 'Nice post'
  • Do be the sort of person you want reading and voting for your own posts.

Don't forget to check out my Dad's blog

Who else can tell you stories about impersonating an officer, stealing a military aircraft to go on a booze run, or steal military aircraft and go on an unsanctioned bombing run - and that's all before he turned 18!

Check out @len.george and find out what other madness he got up to!


Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Sort:  

Good to see you back. How is Len? I've been a bit worried that he suddenly disappeared a week or so ago.

Merry.Xmas.jpg

Len is fine. As fine as an old man can be sitting on a cruise ship in the middle of the Tasman sea wanting for nothing.

He was hoping to be able to blog from the ship, but it looks like that didn't work out. I'm sure he will be full of stories when he gets back.

Oh, excellent news! I think @karenb54 has been wondering too. I hope he's having a wonderful time.

Merry Christmas! It's still 11-1/2 hours until Christmas here. My plans for today include board and card games with friends this afternoon and evening, and then doing as little as possible on Christmas Day itself. I return to my regularly-scheduled library hours on Wednesday.

hunting for your reading glasses

LOL!

I wish you happy holidays to you and your loved ones!

A huge hug from @amico!

Merry Christmas young man. Go out any buy your wifey some bling. She deserves it 😁

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 173 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77