An impatient Christmas

in #christmas7 years ago (edited)

Today, I was asked what Christmas is like in Australia and I mentioned that often the presents will be opened relatively early so that the kids have lots of time to play and enjoy their new toys. In Finland, they generally open them after the Christmas meal. When I said this, one of the grandparents in the room remarked, ' It is a sign of impatience. Finns are disciplined.'

'Umm, it is the 24th, Christmas Eve. Not Christmas.'

I actually don't know why they celebrate the Eve but I assume it is to get an extra day off. I don't mind when anything is celebrated really, as long as it comes accompanied by good food. And today, it was. Being a winter Christmas, there was no traditional barbecue which I find quite strange but it is still good food nonetheless.

I am pretty sure that most families in Finland have pretty much the same range on offer; different fish dishes, baked ham, and casseroles (swede, potato, sweet potato, carrot). Today, everything was homemade but it is not uncommon for the casseroles to be bought ready. I think it is because they all pretty much taste the same regardless of which it is.

The bread in this picture is made by my wife's mum and is one of my favourite breads in Finland. It is called 'Saaristo Leipä' which means Archipelago bread. I am guessing it originated in the region. It is a malt bread and has dark syrup to make it sweet. I can eat a lot of it.

The ham is well, ham. Pictures of ham don't really do it justice, there is no good side to a baked ham but with a decent mustard, it is delicious. I can eat a lot of ham too which is lucky, because there is a 5.5 kilo ham sitting on our balcony still. I didn't take any pictures of the casseroles as they look like they taste, all the same and boring.

We were at my wife's sister's house where we have spent a few years in a row and she likes to both cook and decorate and is pretty good at each of them. It does feel quite nice to sit around and smell the spruce tree and think how lame our decorations are at home. I enjoy being there, even though because of the 'ham fiasco' last night, I only got 1,5 hours sleep. After a glass of wine, I was ready to pass out, but... presents.

Because of a series of unfortunate events last year, our daughter's first Christmas was at home watching my wife eat all the ham by herself while I was in hospital and the rest of the family were sick. This year, she got to be lied to by her mother (her father stayed silent so is complicit in the lie) and tricked by her grandfather. She got introduced to Santa. What made me happy at this point was she was not so interested and played with the dog instead. I was a bit disappointed she didn't shout 'Papa* immediately but, there is always next year.

True to form, the first present she opened was a book and while others opened presents, she read about ghosts. after some time, she did warm up to the present opening and she really enjoyed picking up the paper and putting it in the bin. Yep, she is going to be that kid at school.

I joke, mostly. It was a nice day and I am glad that it will end with me getting to have a sleep so that we can do it all again (minus the presents) at my wife's parent's place tomorrow. So much food. What did I get for Christmas? Fat. I got fat.

Merry Christmas and holidays and whatever politically correct forms there may be for all the people who take traditions very seriously.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Oh, the photos are straight out of the camera and shot on an Olympus EM-1 with a 12-40 2.8 Pro lens.

Sort:  

It looks amazing and not that much different to Christmas in Aus. I wish we could be there for Christmas with you. Oh, by the way if kids were made to wait until after the food to get the presents there’d be a bloody revolt!

Merry Christmas bro.

Yeah, luckily the kids are actually pretty patient types but I can't imagine it being the same everywhere. Merry Christmas Bro.

All together it looks like a great Christmas! Be happy you got fat this year. It is a present that stays. Best wishes from Oklahoma!

It is the present that people make new year's resolutions about. The one most fail at. Merry Christmas :)

Lol.. You got fat! Really? Within how many hours? I hope the Archipelago bread is as tasty as you make it sound because I do love bread. Would love to try it when I have the opportunity to.And your baby girl is lovely😍😍. Merry Christmas to you and your family @tarazkp

Thank you and I hope all the best for you too.

The fat doesn't come from just the Christmas meal but because of it. I have been eat training for a few months already to warm up for it. The bread really is good.

https://breadwithbubbles.wordpress.com/category/recipes/breads/loaves/finnish-archipelago-bread-saaristolaisleipa/

lol, its almost imposible to not get fat, man that meal looks absolutely amazing, and I just loved the idea to give the presents before so they can play with them that night. Here in my country (Uruguay) presents are after midnight, and of course the food is the most important thing ever lol, merry christmas my friend.

Have a great one and eat waaay too much.

Happy Christmas! It looks like you and your family had an enjoyable time =D

It's all about the kids at the end of the day. Make sure that they are happy and that they understand how in addition to presents, the best part of Christmas is the time we spend with each other!

Merry Christmas!!! I like hearing about the different ways we all celebrate. Same same but different :)

Merry Christmas Val :)

It's early Christmas morning here! happy Christmas mate.

Looked like some serious eating going on!

how many kilos you need to lose ? lol

About 10 but, not all from yesterday ;)

I like what you got for christmas = Fat! I think most people gain a few pounds during the holidays and shed it off new year. Hey its time for self pampering and spending time with dear loved ones even for a short time. Happy holidays!

Reflections on Christmas Eve Sunday, December 24, 2017. With the break of dawn, bathed in rays of Sun, shines the morning, reborn hope, emerge feelings sublime found on those who Compartiran the Christmas dinner and the who departed to encounter God. Starts the frenzy of the preparedness of the family meeting, the advent of the Christ Child, the gifts, Los Estrenos, Christmas dinner, the carols, forgiveness and the unforgettable memories of those who are to the right hand of the Lord. Deep pain to not share with them. However, we look to our around, feel his spiritual presence, sprout tears, smiles, the hullabaloo is made present, arise hugs, the promises, predictions and yell with emotion: Merry Christmas to you and all your beloved beings. That God bless today, tomorrow and always with much love and affection. @extasispro (José Calixto)

😂 My son (1 year old) didn't open anything. He neither cared for the paper. My daughter (7 years old) got the pleasure of opening hers and my son's 😂😂 . Little kids..😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68331.57
ETH 2650.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69