How To Avoid Christmas Weightgain

in #christmas7 years ago

86C17A89-301B-4A62-A8BB-87D43DA37ED7.jpeg

L et’s talk about the effect of exercise on mental illness. I believe that exercise has completely changed my life, and has IMMENSELY impacted my mental health in a positive way. Obviously I still have panic disorder, depression and OCD, but I truly feel like my training has allowed me to lessen the severity and the duration of my symptoms when they do strike.
According to a 2011 study, people who suffer from anxiety are hyper aware of their fight or flight method, which in turn manifests itself in anxiety attacks, and in my case, panic disorder. Fear is the driving factor, which is set off by how sensitive our brains are o entering “fight or flight mode” (“Exercise for Mood and Anxiety: Proven Strategies for Overcoming Depression and Enhancing Well-being”) Because of the similar response in the body during a workout, to anxiety (increased heart rate, sweating, heavy breathing) it was thought that an introduction of a regular exercise program would lessen the severity of anxiety attacks in people with panic disorder. 60 volunteers were used for this study and previously untrained subjects who participated in a 2 week exercise program showed massive reductions in anxiety sensitivity and severity. (“Depression and Anxiety, 2008”) Obviously, quoting studies doesn’t really mean anything to anyone suffering themselves because if anyone told me about this before I started working out I would have laughed and said it wouldn’t help. However, speaking from personal experience, regular exercise truly lowers my severity, number, and duration of anxiety attacks. I have no personal studiesto back it up, (obviously the studies are out there), I’m just speaking from personal experience. Exercise helps, and if you’ve never given it a shot, it might be something to look into.

Much love🤙🏻🌗

Sort:  

Congratulations @rileydeveau! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rileydeveau! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64658.37
ETH 3421.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52