A little thing happened on Christmas Eve

in #christmas7 years ago

A bit over a week ago I posted about our Christmas Surprise, which sort of accelerated my timeline for doing another major life thing. We've been together for 3 years in November, and had been talking about moving in together before the little surprise came along, but I had already talked with mum about my Grandmother's rings beforehand, knowing about them being part of my inheritance.

With our baby on it's way, I took the opportunity of having all the immediate families around to exercise my knees and ask the question.

On my Knee.jpg
This was take 3 or 4 for the photo. The multiple takes for the kiss photo were much more fun

The engagement ring dates from the 1940s, when my grandmother got engaged and I was very happy to place it on Catherine's hand after she said yes.

the ring.jpg
Pity we haven't got a better pic of the ring, and that the finger is a little swollen

We now have had a day of family members talking wedding details with us and am currently discussing reception options with my mum while my fiance sleeps after a disturbed night of sleep that didn't provide any rest.

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png

Sort:  

This is awesome congratulations!

Congrats Rat Man.

Congratulations

awww that is super! Huge congrats to you both.

I think the ring looks lovely. It's also really nice when something like that has an ancestral connection. :)

Yeah, I really love that it's something that's been in my family for some time. I hope that it can be passed on again the the future too

Congratulations @ratticus! I’m sure the repeated takes to get the proposal and kiss photos were hilarious. Exciting times for you both ahead! Oh and Merry Christmas. :)

Congratulations to the both of you and a beautiful ring with a family history is even more special, cheers and good luck.

Well done, mate. Congratulations on both fronts. You're in for a hectic 2018 :)

that we are. so much to do, especially when you realise my brother and his wife are also expecting, and my mum is going away for a month, and my future in-laws are at a separate time, and the fiance's sister and family are visiting from the states at yet another time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79