Our Christmas tradition - gingerbread decorating

in #christmas7 years ago

Hello friends, one of tbe best things about Chrismas for me is making gingerbread. I remember the time I was a child, so excited about Chrismas and that amazing atmoshpere when I cooked cakes with my mom.

20171217_161750.jpg

Times have changed, everything seems to be faster and I still do not realise Chrismas are so near. Maybe it is not even that important and it is a day like all others. Last few years were without snow over the holidays and I miss it. But I really look forward to fish with salad and days off. Only one workday left for me and there will be a small party with my colleagues. That is why I made some tasty and nice gignerbread for them.

20171217_135747.jpg

If you want to make your own gingerbread there are lots of recipes. This is the one we use:

Ingredients

  • 750 g flour
  • 350 g powered sugar
    4 eggy
    125 g butter
    5 soup spoon of honey
    1 tea spoon of sodium bicarbonate
    1 bag of spice gingerbread

The process

First we need to sift all the dry ingredients. Then we put all the ingredients together. They will create nice smooth dough. Put it into the fridge for 24 hours. Then take it out of the fridge and let it to achieve room temperature. Roll the dough to 0,5 cm thickness and cut it with templates. Bake at 180°C and use baking paper. After they cool down you can decorate them.

Topping

We need to make snow out of the egg white. Then you should sift powdered sugar and add it gradually into the snow. For a better taste add also a tea spoon of lemon juice. Mix it all together till you get white mash. For more collors separate some part of it and add food dye.

You can buy sachets originaly made for gingerbread decorating, or you can use simple but thicker plastic bag with nice sharp edges to make decorating bag. Add the topping into it, bind it on the top and make a small hole on the tip. There are also some nice small decorations made of sugar mostly which you can buy to achieve nicer results.
Here are some I made...

20171217_141640.jpg

20171217_161810.jpg

They are now prepared for my coleagues...

20171219_182334.jpg

There are also some photos from the previous years :)

I hope you got some inspiration! :)

 

Thanks for watching!

 
 

Follow me on Steemit

Facebook Instagram Youtube

#thealliance

Sort:  

They are soooo lovely!! To me, the ginger bread smell is one of the signature of Christmas x)

thank you :) for me too

Ohh.. informative post.. but I am wondering what the story about santa ?? can you please explain it buddy???

what story? we dont have Santa here.. Its a small Jesus who brings presents here in Slovakia :D

I have always wondered whether it is the small one or the big one from the cross.

the small one.. because he was born just during Chrismas

But how could he carry all the gifts? He doesn't have the muscles.

great, very interesting! will do it with my kids at home too!)))

The gingerbread cookies that look like cats are so cute! Thanks for the post, this made me feel really christmasy :)

Oh my I love Christmas cookies. I already bakes mine last week, but I think I will have to make some more right before Christmas.

Your are so beautifully decorated :) Love the little horses and Christmas trees.

Merry Christmas! thanks for sharing this :)

These look great! I've got a batch of dough hanging out in the fridge right now, just waiting for us to have a moment to roll it out and cut it. It just doesn't feel like Christmas until we've got a pile of decorated cookies to munch on. 😄

we also made some more today :D all prepared for Chrismas now!

Love the cats!

oh my god they're STUNNING, i especially love the job you guys did on the christmas trees!

thanks :D trees were reall easy to make.. I enjoyed them the most..

oh wow they look so beautiful and tasty!!!

thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62260.20
ETH 2431.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64