Merry christmas?

in #christmas7 years ago (edited)

I’m taking back Christmas! This month of shopping frency, over eating and complaining about your friends getting better(more expencive?) gifts has gone too far! I’m pi**ed! I’m taking back Christmas!

First of all, i am a father of two beautiful little boys wich I love and adore. There is nothing in this world i would not do for them. But the way I see it, this doesn’t mean I have to buy them Ipads, flat screen tv’s or PlayStations. My love cannot be summed up in a purchase. I refuse to let it happen!

Secondly, I am Also a teacher. In my classroom I see loads of different children. Children wich parents works different jobs. Some make a lot of money, some make barely enough to Get by. And it is heartbreaking to observe in wich way a Christmas is beeing measured. It’s all about getting the most expencive gift! The looks on some of the kids faces, when they realise they cannot tell what they got for Christmas(even though they might be happy with it) because it is too cheap.

We live in a world where the difference between rich and poor has never been bigger. There are millions of people that has to walk 5 miles a day for clean water. Millions of people in this world has never made a phone call. And billions of people struggle to make ends meet. Still hundreds of millions of people spend a lot of money on gifts that are not needed, mere an object of measuring sucsess.

Well, I think i’ve succeeded. And I don’t buy my kids flat screens. I sing Christmas carrols with my kids, everyday. I play in the snow with my kids, every day. And i show my kids how much i love them, everyday!

Merry Christmas
And a happy new year

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65