DIY Christmas Village | Hand Crafted by Papa

in #christmas7 years ago (edited)

How's the Holiday Season Steem it friends?

I haven't posted for a while, I was caught up by the Holiday fever, busy shopping my Christmas bunos for presents, attended several Christmas parties and spent some quality time with my family.

Holiday Season is I guess the most awaited time of the year for the majority of us. Aside from the extra month pay I received, there is something about Christmas spirit that I really love about, helps me reminisce how grateful I used to be every time I received a gift, when I was a kid. I can still recall how often my grandfather plays his favorite Jose Mari Chan's Christmas song album in a cassette tape every after morning mass also known as the "Simbang Gabi". Christmas to me before, means more presents, new stuff, more toys, more parties from school to neighborhood, and most importantly the perfect time for family get together.

It’s the most wonderful time of the year! Across the world, people are putting up their Christmas trees, hanging their Christmas decorations. One thing I look forward to, every Christmas is my Father's hand crafted Christmas village. It's his yearly "panata" ever since I was a child. And up to now I still get the same feeling of excitement whenever I get to see his masterpiece.

I'd like to share how he made it and how resourceful he is in putting this up.

Displayed in our living room , Papa's hand crafted Christmas Village is the center of attraction during Holiday Season. It attracts more guests and kids in our neighborhood.

Papa used a sturdy wood as a platform. Installed series wiring and light bulbs to illuminate and enhance the beauty of the view.

He placed a mobile train proportionally on the center, to make it possible to access all corners of the village.

The Village houses were built with spare woods, most were painted green, red and gold to match with the Christmas color theme.

If you can tell, those forest green trees were made of "scotch bright" dish foam, torn and tied on thin wires and sticks to form into a miniature tree.

For the artificial SNOW, he used PERLA Soap, a local detergent brand you can easily buy in the groceries, rubbed it with water and waited til it forms a foam, then added salt to preserve the snow-like characteristic of the foam.

There is a cute detailed design Christmas Manger a nativity scene right next to the Church, a bench made out of Toothpicks and thin woods that were glued together.

And those villagers, were used to be Cheap Green Soldier toys, that were painted and reformed to make it look like regular residents, rather than something that would look like going to a battle.

I can't estimate the total cost since the materials used were just really recycled. My Papa is thrifty and he has those loads of unused, spare, extra, excess , what ever you call it, stuff stocked in our basement.

I hope this post gives you an idea on what to decorate your home on the next holiday.

At its best, Christmas is a mirror in which we see reflected the very best life can be. Where we see ourselves moved by generosity, inspired by hope and uplifted by love, not only for ourselves but for the whole evolving universe.

Sharing with you the Glory, the Wonder, the Miracle of this Holy Season. Have a Blessed Christmas and New Year my dear steem it friends.

Let me know your thoughts or if you have questions on the comment section.

Don't forget to hit that upvote and follow button to see more of my posts.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has upvoted and checked this post!
Some similarity seems to be present here:
http://www.wiseoldsayings.com/christmas-quotes/
This is an early BETA version. If you cited this source, then ignore this message! Reply if you feel this is an error.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64