Steemgifts update 1.1 : SSL and giftcard creation for already existing accounts

in #christmas7 years ago (edited)

First of all, thank you very much for all of your support yesterday. @fredrikaa and I were very pleased to get so much feedback. And so I very quickly got to work to push the first update.

SSL

For the minimum viable product we did not use SSL because shipping it as soon as possible was primordial, but now that it's out and that I got a bit more time, I got ssl up and running on the server. This means that now all the data that comes from and to the website is crypted. Which means that if someone is listening to your network (if you create a gift card on a public wifi per instance) he won't be able to see your password/active key.

We activated ssl by default so this means that if you try to access the website without ssl (http instead of https) you will get redirected directly to the https url ;)

The certificate is managed by letsencrypt

Create cards for your existing accounts

One other thing that we saw is that people wanted to create cards for existing accounts. Or they wanted to create the account themselves but still wanted the card. we head you and so now you have the option to generate a gift card without having to give your active key ;) You can access it here : steemgifts create

As you can see the fields are still almost the same, we just don't ask for your active key.

Foldable card

Something that was designed from the start but that only got activated with this update is the foldable design !

howo.png

So now you can print it, fold it in half, glue it, and get a cool double sided card ! I printed it to test and it looks like this ! (I only had black and white ink)

Pretty neat huh ?

As always, the updated code can be found on the gitub repo : https://github.com/drov0/steemgifts

Thanks for reading and feel free to give us more feedback, it's always appreciated :)

Sort:  

Wow!!!!that's awesome so I can now design my own cards.
Please keep it up.

XD it's funny we had a talk yesterday with @fredrikaa where we went like "ok let's discontinue it until we have more time to focus on it again". reason we are putting is down is to give a dedicated server to SteemPress

I just wrote to @fredrika to tell that I like your posts very much. Your gift card is fantastic. I'm going to follow both of you from now on.
Happy New Year!

I see now that I forgot the second 'a'. It's @fredrikaa

Thank you very much. You'll like our future projects I'm sure of it ;)

You could at least have used proper photo paper with colour on it for the pictures!! :P

No this has been good fun! I'm printing one out now and preparing an envelope for it ^^

Well I had none of that available Hahaha.

Send me your pictures when it's done ;)

Printers nowadays support 2 side print, but the positioning could get tricky, so foldable version is fine I guess

What a great idea :) I'm supporting it with my vote and following your account :)

Very unique idea!

Hallo howo, saya sangat menyukai posting anda...
image

Thanks :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67441.24
ETH 3492.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81