Present TensesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #christmas6 years ago


kari-shea-485935-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Kari Shea on Unsplash

I find myself on the brink of the holidays and realize I have no desire whatsoever to buy things. You have to, because you're led to believe you do, but you don't. I don't know whence this change in me, because I've always loved Christmas. And while loving Christmas and buying a load of gifts are two completely different things, I am one of those people who just isn't happy if I hadn't bought a small pile for everyone in my life.
But something's changed and I don't exactly know how that happened. I tried telling myself it's because I understand how hard it is to earn money, but that's bull. I just sit on my ass all day and write stuff – I can't really complain, can I? Not if I don't want to get my butt kicked or something (I don't). Let's face it, I'm not financially struggling, I'm not working multiple jobs to make ends meet, I'm good. And yet, my perception of money has changed. Actually no, I still believe you should invest in experiences and all, perhaps it's just my perception of what's a worthy buy has changed.
Romania, like much of Europe, is doing its best at being a pale copy of the “mighty” US, a real shame, I know, but what can you do? And in its attempt to do that, it has adopted the consumerist attitude so rampant in the west. And slowly, it's making its way into our own minds. If we let it, of course.
I've always said that who we are, while influenced by external factors such as culture or parenting, is largely our choice. So it is with consumerism – the world around you might tell you that if it doesn't cost $100, it's crap, but that's up to you to decide, same as with anything else in life.
We're encouraged to look at the expensive sets of make-up and fancy-brand clothing and see them as worthy gifts. Impressive, no? After all, it does show I'd spend a couple hundred bucks on you. But what does that mean? Nothing, really. It's nothing at all.


ashim-d-silva-89336-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Ashim D’Silva on Unsplash

You can buy the same make-up, only without the brand, for less than half the price. Same with shoes, clothes and jewelry. But then, who are you if you're not trotting around town with a nicely-branded bag? Can you maintain your cool when all your colleagues have Gucci bags and you have a low-key no-name? Can you really go up to them and explain that for the rest few hundred dollars (that you saved on the bag) you went and bought food for the next month?
Sure. If you want to be the office loser. That's the real issue here. That we're buying into this crappy attitude and adopt it in how we treat others. You might know Jim is a great, smart guy. But Jim's car is old and pathetic in comparison to your BMW and you will look down on Jim for that, no matter how swell a guy he is, normally.

Or not. Again, it's up to you what kind of consumer you want to be. That's the funny thing, see? Because while I've never bought generic gifts (such as a perfume that says nothing or some bland rag), I've discovered I think within the same narrow parameters. Looking for Christmas gifts for those around me, my mind goes to the usuals...perfume, clothes, a bag, some jewelry...all made at the great big shopping mall. Well, most made by poor children and women who work much longer than they should and the rest of the “underprivileged”.

Funny term. Because we're oh so privileged on this side of the water, aren't we? We're all just slaves, brain-washed servants. And we choose to be that, each day. Because each day that you buy into this way of thinking, you're giving up a little more of your strength, of your independence. And you could stop at any time, but then, you'd have to ignore all the smirking, you'll have to explain to your friends when you give them a small hand-made gift that you no longer buy into all this consumerism crap. And you know that won't go down well, because they still do. And because they think you think you're better than them because of that. Make sense?

Oh well, I know it's much easier said than done. Well no, it is easy, but we like to imagine it's hard because then, we have an excuse to keep consuming.

So, what are you buying for Christmas?

Thank you for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

Hi there,
I've just upvoted this post
A small contribution from me, to help the steem community to thrive ;)

I buy them nothing :) I have the luck to have friends and family that appreciate sharing an experience rather than received something that will never use/wear. Around 5 years I decided to became an annoying person called minimalist, that is not buying something unless is really need it. I have the same pair of jeans since then and I do buy what I need in charity shops. I prefer to offer people spa experiences and helicopter rides to keep my way I see life and what are the things that matter. Some times I will make few of them unhappy, but what the hack is not my personal journey to help them all. So one of the reason I spend my Xmas in a Muslim country is also to do it my way 😀😀

Posted using Partiko Android

It is a luck indeed to have such friends. You know, the concept behind the whole minimalist living thing is starting to sound more and more appealing, for various reasons.

but what the hack is not my personal journey to help them all.

Definitely something I need to learn. I have the unhealthy belief that I am somehow responsible for others' happiness, when of course I am not. Still, getting there. Yeah, I'm beginning to see why you get away for Xmas. Smart choice :D

No Christmas gift purchasing here. We provide the things we need, or want, throughout the year so we don't see the need to purchase more at this time of year. Well...I will buy some gingerbread I guess. Can't get enough of that!

Posted using Partiko Android

I was actually just thinking of that earlier. I mean most of us are like that I believe, getting what you need when you need it. There's no waiting, and instead of being thankful for that, we end up wanting more. And it's mostly useless shit.
Yes, gingerbread must indeed be bought. ;) Wouldn't be Christmas otherwise.

Great post. It is so easy to get caught up in the consumerism of Christmas. I always try to keep things as minimal as possible.

Congratulations @honeydue! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46