December 20th - See the Potential for Greatness in Others

in #christmas8 years ago

While @gavvet is enjoying a well deserved break, I have had the privilege to carry on this initiative in his absence. Although I have enjoyed each of the themes of the previous 19 days, today's is my favorite so far.

Today's theme is about seeing the potential for greatness in others.



DETERMINATION AND GREATNESS

As some of you know, I am a high school special education teacher. It's basically in my job description to see greatness in my students. Luckily for me, this is the easiest part of my job. I am lucky enough to be surrounded by some of the most determined kids on earth. Every day, they scratch, claw, and fight to earn the education that comes so easily to many of their peers. Despite the many obstacles in their way, they strive for greatness every day. They are stronger than I am. They are inspiring.

So I guess today's theme should be really easy for me. I just show up to work, believe in them, and put them in positions where they can learn, grow and become even stronger.

But the idea of this initiative is to do something special. Tonight I am going to take my family to see some of my students play in a Special Olympics basketball game. If you have never gone to one, I highly suggest it. These games are pure fun.

Perhaps this video can help to inspire you to see the potential for greatness in others...



This is the twentieth way of serving in 25 ways over 25 days leading up to Christmas.

Would you like to recognize the potential for greatness in others?

Its easy:
1. Watch the short clip
2. Follow the instructions
3. Make it happen
4. Then tweet or otherwise share your results using... #lighttheworld... encourage others to participate
5. 25 days is enough consistency to form a new habit

If every day this December we are slightly more mindful of others we may find ourselves with a new great habit to continue into the new year and beyond.

THREE SIMPLE WAYS TO GET INVOLVED

  • Learn about our divine potential.
  • Take a child to work with you, and let him or her do a small part of your job.
  • Be a mentor or tutor to someone.

OTHER WAYS TO PARTICIPATE

  • Donate to a scholarship at your local high school.
  • Cheer someone on! Attend an athletic, cultural, or similar event to support someone you know.
  • Help a child learn to set goals.
  • Contribute your abilities to an adult education class in your area.
  • List some positive qualities in someone you don't get along with.
  • Visit JustServe.org for more ways to #LIGHTtheWORLD in your community (U.S. and Canada only).

More detail and the embedded links can be found directly from this link

https://www.mormon.org/christmas/in-25-ways-over-25-days/jesus-saw-potential-in-others

Image Link

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.71 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 20 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Inspirational post Brian!

Thanks! I have enjoyed all of these, but this one was special to me.

Hi @hanshotfirst

I have a big admiration for people who work with special education need kids. My wife is a primary school teacher for people with cerebral palsy she once did a post on it at the following link Special education.
Keep up the good work

Aweosme! I will check that out. I was just wondering how many teachers are on here. You and your wife seem like terrific people!!!!

Awesome! What do you teach?

Maths and English....absolutely love it! Have been teaching for 24 years now and I have the best and most rewarding job in the world...

That is wonderful that you are still so excited after 24 years. This is year 18 for me and I'm still excited too! I have never been bored one day in my career (except for meetings when the kids aren't there).

Thank you very much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51