Tripping Balls On ChristmassteemCreated with Sketch.

in #christmas7 years ago

Santa Claus is actually a shaman who hands out mushrooms during the time of winter solstice. Wait, what? Yeah, I know. It's a bit of a stretch especially if you've never heard of Northern Europe shamanistic practices. But hear me out as it might shift your perspective on the end of the year festivity forever.

MERRY_CHRISTMAS_Future_Food_IO.jpg

About three years ago I started using psychedelics as a way of therapeutic sessions. After discovering Vipassana meditation I noticed that certain personal issues kept recurring. Vipassana meditation was a great tool to show me that I needed to dig much deeper into myself in order to understand and hopefully alter my thoughts, acting and strengthen relationships with loved ones.

This resulted in quarterly solo psilocybin sessions which became an important aspect of my life and wellbeing.

awesome-mushroom-christmas-ornaments-stunning-decoration-snooping-around-santa-s-hallucinating-mushrooms.jpg
The Amanita muscaria is the fungi which are a symbiont with pine and birch plantations.

Oke so what the hell has this to do with Santa Claus being a shaman? About two years ago a good friend of mine (a bit of a shaman himself) forwarded me this YouTube documentary. It was long and felt like one of those conspiracy theory video's which always make me frown. Non the less the part about Christmas, shamanistic practices and the origin of Santa Claus made a lot of sense to me.

But due to the illuminati vibes, I was always hesitant to share this film with friends. Until last night when I saw this podcast by Aubrey Marcus CEO of the supplement company Onnit. He talks with Tero Isokauppila, founder of Four Sigmatic. Just watch it and all the above will make total sense ;)

Then, this morning I stumbled upon this film by Matthew Salton which summarises the podcast in a more visual way. Also, check out his accompanying article.

3X_Christmas_Future_Food_IO.jpg
A variety of vintage German Christmas cards.

I'm fascinated by history and the way it can shine a light on our day to day behavior. I love Christmas. As a child, I always said that I'd prefer Christmas over my own birthday, and I still do. These old/new insights show me that the true spirit of Christmas has not been completely forgotten and that we somehow carry on traditions through visualization.

I hope everybody has a great seasonal holiday with lots of great insights, love, and joy.

Merry Christmas!

Sort:  

Same story as it is with Easter. Tripping on shrooms and searching some colorful eggs.

Wild'n'Free Diary wishes you all Merry Christmas and peaceful holidays.

Oh, I have not seen or read any references in regards to easter. Any links? Will def search for it myself!
Thnx!

I have this info in my head for so long time. I will make some search also!

Up-voted, shared, and re-steemed. Great post. Thanks.

There's a fun scene in Dinotasia (narrated by Werner Herzog) of a dinosaur tripping on a similar red-and-white mushroom.

That's a great scene indeed, which in turn reminds me of this one :)

Wish you a joyful Christmas Day...

Thanks a lot, same to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63313.88
ETH 2629.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76