the true meaning of Christmas according to Charlie Brown's LinussteemCreated with Sketch.

in #christmas7 years ago


A Charlie Brown Christmas premiered in 1965.

I have watched it every single year since then.

If you somehow have never seen this classic you need to check it out.



As usual, Charlie Brown finds himself on the outside of his group of friends. Nothing he says or does is appreciated, and he's made fun of by them. Even Snoopy acts up.

He becomes depressed and forlorn about Christmas and goes in search of the true meaning of Christmas

The story centers around a Christmas play which Charlie Brown is directing. He finds it difficult to get the cooperation from his friends as everyone wants something different. After being mocked and laughed at by the cast, Charlie Brown's frustration peeks and he cries out if anyone knows what Christmas is all about.

Linus breaks out into his soliloquy which is my personal favorite part of this movie.

And there were in the same country shepherds abiding in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night.
And, lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them: and they were sore afraid.
And the angel said unto them, Fear not; for, behold, I bring you tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people.
For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Savior, which is Christ the Lord.
And this shall be a sign unto you: Ye shall find the babe wrapped in swaddling clothes, lying in a manger.
And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God, and saying,
Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace and goodwill towards men."

That's what Christmas is all about, Charlie Brown."

I always shed a tear or two at this point.

It is charming, tender, lovely and full of so many virtuous moments.

Highly recommended to you and yours. Kids definitely from age 0-100+

The soundtrack is also highly recommended.
Many classic songs such as Christmas Time is Here originated from this movie.





signature.png



sources



Sort:  

thank you for the advice.

You're welcome.

love this Christmas special and never grow tired of it. I suppose that's why it's a classic. Heartwarming.

Heartwarming, that's the word I was looking for. !

you're welcome :)

Thanks, @countrygirl, for sharing this classic with your Steemit audience.

Charles Shultz was consistent and bold in the use of his art to share the message of good news with his vast (and on-going!) audience. God Bless You, Charles Shultz and all of your progeny, your heirs, successors, and assigns, and all who have heard and will hear the voice of the LORD through your work.

God Bless you and yours as well, @countrygirl, this Christmas season.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Amen to that @creatr. He will be missed but his work happily will continue. Thanks for your blessings :)

I don't think I've seen this. At least I don't remember it.

I'll have to add it to my Christmas eve viewing schedule :-)

Oh do watch it......it's such a feel good, silly in parts, serious in others.....fun movie. :)

I second @countrygirl's vote. Its a must see!

Oh yes its a MUST SEE!!!! I love it and of course the other Peanut classics too. The Great Pumpkin where Charlie Brown keeps getting a stone when trick or treating while his friends get candy is the story of my life 😌LOL.

My husband's nickname is Charlie Brown. I call him "sir". I'm his Peppermint Patty. I'd say we were huge fans too :)

Aww that is too cute lol.

Awwww........... do you have a Snoopy?

we do....but she's an Abbey :)

hello, it reminds me of my childhood

I'm so glad!! There is something warm and fuzzy about these old movies.

Great post! This classic will never get old. I miss when cartoons were this innocent. Merry Christmas!!

Hey @johngabriel. Thank you! I miss innocent cartoons too.

Thank you for sharing! Since I'm from Russia, we didn't watch Charlie Brown back then, but will make sure to watch it this year! :)

I think you can find it on youtube if it's not offered on tv. Definitely worth watching in my opinion. I love Charlie Brown :)

i liked this post

I'm very glad you did.

This post has received a 7.70 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80