Consumer Capitalism and My Battle With Christmas! Does My Daughter Need a Lambo???steemCreated with Sketch.

in #christmas8 years ago

I have been struggling with consumer capitalism for the past few years and it always ramps around this time of year as companies push their products. This latest tipping point was grandma purchasing my youngest daughter of 2 years ol a Lamborghini Murcielago! Decided to build the car ahead of time so that it would be ready to go Christmas morning given my daughter would be freaking and want to drive it right way.

After opening the box my girlfriend chimed in that we should wait for her next birthday when it would be warmer outside and she could actually use it. I thought to myself, "yea, trying to recklessly drive a Lambo through the house on Christmas is probably a bad idea.". I then asked if grandma would be mad that her gift was not opened on Christmas and if she would be ok with it being for her birthday instead. She said it would be fine given she got her several other things and it does not make sense to open it in the Winter.


(Not our actual living room)

Now we have to store this thing for the winter which as you can see will take up a lot of space. This gives me plenty of time on how this Lambo with effect my daughters outlook on the world. It might not make a difference I just hope she does not expect to get a nice sports car to drive when she grows up because that will most likely not be the case.

How much stuff do we really need? Really?

Sadhguru mentioned in the latest audio I have heard from him that "if everyone in the world had as much as the average American we would need four and a half planets. We only have half of one left". I have been a minimalist ever since I can remember, feels like in the back of my head there I always new life was excessive. It might be because of the Labyrinth, that hoarder lady really freaked me out.

Feel free to chime in, I am curious what people thing about this.

Thanks!

SteemVerify

Sort:  

Hi @codydeeds, sorry for off topic comment, but you won the $50 upvote contest:

https://steemit.com/contest/@demotruk/congratulations-to-ballinconscious-codydeeds-alexpmorris-retweet-contest-winners

How would you like to receive the prize? Steem Dollars is ideal for me, but I can also send it via Bitcoin or PayPal.

What?! That's crazy! Steem dollars is fine! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61964.40
ETH 2998.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47