Santa Coming Down The Chimneys of Christians

in #christmas7 years ago

image

Being A Bible College student, I’m introduced to many new ideas, beliefs, and such on th daily. One of the most recent interesting ones was the idea of Santa Clause in Christian households.

image
Yes, I bet you are!

Basically, the idea is this: accepting, and later being told that your acceptance was in vain, that Santa Clause was real, makes it significantly more difficult to believe in God.

A second argument for not endorsing the idea of Santa in the household is the similarities and differences between the idea of Santa and the person of Jesus. Santa is portrayed as giving, all knowing, kind, jolly, and miraculous. Jesus genuinely is and was giving, all knowing, kind, peaceful, and miraculous (among other things). So this raises two issues.

The first issue is that, as previously mentioned, accepting Santa and the similarities between him and Jesus makes it harder to still accept Jesus reality after giving up belief in Santa.

Now, none of this to say Santa is bad. I grew up “believing” (I never fully did) in Santa as a kid in a Christian home and everything was totally hunky dorey—no problems. But that’s unfortunately not the case with some. So Santa isn’t inherently bad in my eyes, but it’s really more a matter of preference and conscience I would say.

A problem I thought of though when considering it further was that if Santa is checking off a checklist of good things we have to do to be good enough for gifts, then wouldn’t children have the same idea of Jesus if they’re so similar? Especially if Christmas is both their time of year?

This idea got my roommate (who happens to be one of my closest bros) talking about it, so what do you guys on here think?

If you took the time to read this, thank you! I sincerely appreciate it! #upvotefortuition :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56709.98
ETH 2329.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37