Santa And The Lies Told To Children

in #christmas8 years ago (edited)

Now that the holidays (holy days) are upon us here in ye olde United States I'm sure many parents out there will be taking the kiddies to see Santa Claus AKA (fat guy in a red suit who was developed by coca cola as an advertising gimmick in the 1920's) At least the version most of us are familiar with today anyway.

If you honor virtue, truth, and honesty at all I'm going to suggest you abstain from this traditionalist lie. Because that's what it is, a lie.

Anyone who has ever lied about anything knows the problem with a lie isn't so much the lie itself but the hundreds,or even thousands of other lies that must be told to keep the first one going.

Make all the excuses about how much fun it is, how harmless it is, get yourself all offended, bang your head against the wall, beat your fists on the table. It IS a lie and you are fully aware of this.

When your children lie to you (because it's fun) you'll know exactly where they learned such behavior.

Do yourself and your children a favor and simply tell them the truth. They will thank you for it (a lot sooner than you think).

They will have a respect for honesty that is lost on much of society, and they will realize the truth is the truth, whether nobody believes it, or everyone believes it.

Selah

Sort:  

Absolutely. My parents never told my siblings and I that Santa is real. I've done the same with my children.
My mom had a bad experience when she found out the truth about Santa and didn't want to do that to us.
I want my children to trust me and I feel that begins with the truth about fairy tales.

We never did with our children, but whooaaaa! You'd think we were child abusers from the comments and sideways looks we would get when people found out. One of my favorite memories was at a family christmas gathering. My then five year old told her then ten year old cousin to quit telling here lies. That Santa stuff isn't real. I just remember mentally daring someone to correct her (as this sort of shut the whole room down for a few seconds).

Crickets... what could they really say?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63