The year's best Christmas present

in #christmas5 years ago (edited)

Stories

For ages and ages, we have been telling each other stories to provide a sense of understanding, as a way to remember and give meaning to the world and our place in it.

Stories, when told in a certain way, are a very powerful tool to convey a message. But they are more than that: they bring cohesion in what would otherwise be chaos, they add a sense of purpose to what otherwise would be just a sequence of events.

IT professionals around a campfire

Last week I joined in on two sessions for work, with the purpose of diving into and further establishing the identity of our company. It's a company that trains people to become IT professionals. We aren't the only ones out there creating this opportunity, so our search was: what is it that makes us stand out? We had two very interesting sessions, where we used story telling to get to the core of what the company means for the people who are with it, and to get to what it is that makes us unique.

20181221_094210.jpg

Our (look-a-like) campfire

In our second session, we sat around a (look-a-like) campfire, in a circle, on pillows on the floor. And we started out by telling each other our personal stories about us and our company - how and why we joined, what our experiences are.

The story-telling begins

We were in a room with a lot of windows, the rain and wind were bashing against them, it was a really stormy day. We were each holding a nice big cup of herbal tea, and in between us was the the lights and wood resembling the fire place. For some reason or other, the place made us relax, made us open up, the setting was perfect for sharing our stories.

One of my colleagues started with his story. Telling about his experiences in another company, comparing them to his situation now. I was touched by his sense of finding a place where he could commit himself to and where others are committed to him. He feels such a sense of trust, he's allowed to explore and take on projects and learn as he goes. For him, being trusted in this way means he feels very close to the company, the place and the people and the possibilities we are creating together are very dear to him.

My other colleague told a personal story about how in her life, she wasn't typically the best student of the class. Coming from a family where everyone scored A+es on everything and she didn't, she feels she often has to fight to prove she can do the things she believes she can. Now, in this company, she's getting an opportunity that's beyond her expectation and she's more than ready to make it work.

Fellow explorers

When it was my turn, I told the story of how, after university, I felt I had more questions than answers. I travelled a lot and really went in search of an understanding of 'why am I here, what is life for'? I found my answers, and I'm very happy I persisted till I did.

Coming back after a lot of years of travel, I went looking for a job where I would still get to be in a context where those answers which matter most to me are relevant, where I can share about these things with others. Finding a job was a challenge in itself, with a resume with a lot of gaps. But especially the part about others - where do you find people who have actually taken the time to look into the questions of life? Who feel that this research of life and self matters and should be shared to create more value, to be of more value to each other?

Who would have thought that a company providing IT Traineeships would be that place? As a team we are a group of people who walked a path less travelled, we've explored a bit more than the usual perhaps. And the opportunity we provide allows others who deviated from the regular routes, who took more time than usual to find their rhythm in life, to find a place to settle in. Our traineeship offers a way into the job market. And the company feels like a home to those who've been out exploring.

All I want for Christmas....

I was telling my story, pointing out how sometimes at the office I feel so grateful for the place I found, the opportunities I'm getting, the people I'm surrounded with, that it brings tears to my eyes. And of course, in that moment of sharing personal stories with each other, that also made my eyes water.

This was the Friday before the Christmas holidays started, and not officially Christmas yet. But sharing this sense of gratitude with these people who are now on my team, with whom I'll continue building the company next year and maybe many years after - it felt like such an awesome Christmas present.

Gratitude is one of the best vibes, and being in that vibe with others is such a gift. I hope your holidays are filled with it!

DQmdQnN7LAnyvqSavjUcLV6LxKrbXSdT5iz6ctYUrPnEaC3.png

Sort:  

What a cool thing to do from your company. Well, when everybody is really trying to tell their true story while leaving the BS behind, then you really get to know people..

cool initiative! And totally different that the normal 'kerst-vri-mi-bo'

Yes, I thought it was cool too :). Getting to really connect with colleagues makes it so much more fun to work together!

Merry christmas from blockbrothers

Thank you and same to you!!

@amritadeva You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Welcome back @amritadeva. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Thanks. Happy holidays to you too!

That sounds like a company with a heart <3 I'm so glad you find your place! From what I can see/hear you fit right in, and that's a treasure to cherish.

True, I'm still very happy having found this place. And I get so much space also to make the place more and more the way I would like it to be. Joining in on these identity sessions is an example, and having the responsibility with my two colleagues to take along the rest of the team and continue building on this identity, aligning our HR practices to it... it's just a lot of fun!

Merry Christmas @amritadeva
30232056_1892054284191708_1804236384_o.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99