Miracles in My Life, Part 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #christianlife6 years ago (edited)


Two years ago, I found myself ready to write a song.

"Lord, what do you want me to write?" I asked.

I felt Him asking me: "What do you want to write?"

The words began flowing, not in rhyme, yet flowing forth into a prayer to Him:

Jesus, I have known you for so many, many years...

But there's a longing deep within my heart to know you

So much better than I ever have before.

So draw me closer, Precious Jesus.

Hear the prayer my heart is crying out to you...

It was truly my heart cry. I knew Jesus, but I wanted more. I wanted more than what I was experiencing at that point.

And He answered.

A month or two later, I found myself at the Youth Alive Conference. And I haven't been the same since.

It was the beginning of a mighty work of God.

I've already shared before what God did there, but I want to share a story of a change He started that weekend that has totally changed my life and my relationship with Him.


I nervously walked toward the building for the Youth Alive Conference, feeling somewhat out of place. I was 28, but this was my first-ever youth conference. And since this wasn't my usual circles, I essentially knew no one there.

A teen-aged guy was coming out the door, but when he saw me, he paused and came up to me.

"Hey! Good to have you here. I'm Jethro. Have you been here before?"

He immediately put me at ease, helped me get checked in, and showed me into the main conference area. As he prepared to leave, he pulled a card out of his pocket.

"Here. Fill this out, and after the conference, look at it and see if your answer has changed."

I took the card, slid it into my pocket, and forgot about it.


Several weeks later, I was looking for something in my car and discovered a familiar card in my center console. As I looked at it, I was amazed at how my answer had changed.

From God to ______: who do you think you are in My Kingdom?

Before the conference, I would have said that I was a warrior; an ambassador; a servant of God. And none of those things are the "wrong" answer, because I AM all those things.

But the first day, when my dear brother Conrad Beiler got up to speak, God gave him a message that would start a radical shift in my life.

Because he spoke about how we are children of God. How we have been adopted. How our identity is now in our Heavenly Father.

And so, here's how I filled out my card, three weeks later:

I am a son!

For more in this series, check out part 2.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.joelhorst.com/2019/04/14/miracles-in-my-life-part-1/
Sort:  

Congratulations @joelhorst! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66984.34
ETH 2607.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66