You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Intriguing Growth of Texas Cowboy Churches!

in #christianity6 years ago

Now, I enjoyed that! You got me on several points: John Wayne mention, gun stores on the corner, Dolly singing and gettin' me mushy inside, and the churches where religion is not allowed.

I want to go to one for the experience.

We've been talking about moving to Texas for about five years and wish we had just pulled up stakes and did it back then. Not sure how I'd do in a place with no water, but otherwise no real preference. Love the Hill Country and the central part around San Angelo. Spend a lot of time day dreaming about waking up and seeing the horizon. I always thought Heaven was in Texas on a small spread with about 32 alpacas.

Sort:  

howdy again @willymac! I just added 2 more photos to this blog because they have horses and one of them has a horse up front by the preacher! lol
too bad I didn't find those yesterday but anyway it's quite a site!

But yes sir Texas definitely has a lot going for it. tons of jobs in or near cities but still nice properties in the country. The Hill Country is where all the rich elites are moving, putting in all their bunkers and survival homes and such, prices are sky high out there.

In our area the soil is a black clay which holds water like crazy so there are lakes and ponds everywhere, we got 2 of em on our place..so you could have your own water or live on one of the many lakes here.

Alpacas are great, a lot of people have them, one of our neighbors does, keeps the coyotes away among other things.
I agree with all your points. love John Wayne, Dolly Parton, gun shops and non-religion churches. thank you sir!

Whoa, there! I said I like the Hill Country, not that I could afford a major chunk of it! Yep, there are some really nice places scattered around but my dream place would be so big I could not see what kind of place my neighbors had and I could shoot targets all day and they could not even hear me. If I'm going to dream, why not do it right?

What is the name of a town in your area...so I can do some map exploring? Didn't know about the black clay!

yes sir the black clay around here causes tremendous flooding almost any time we get a decent rain because the clay won't absorb it. there are thousands of ponds, or Pots as they are called here, any man-made pond is a pot.
anyway Texas also has lots of big lakes but only one of them is natural, all the rest are man-made, that's why they all have tree tops sticking out of them. the nearest town to us is Caddo Mills about 7 miles away but they're so small we do all our shopping in Greenville.
our 15 acre place is totally private and we can shoot anytime we want, we hear gunfire going on and off all day and night here.
here's a typical TX lake with trees sticking up:
DSC02811.JPG

We have a similar problem with the very heavy red clay that is mixed with rocks. When it is wet it is like crunchy peanut butter that will not take any more moisture. Even when we dig out a bowl and add compost and much, a new plant will likely rot if we get a lot of rain because the water will not drain from the bowl. Flat ground like that is good for pine trees, but little else.

Thanks for the location info. A visit via Google Earth is next...

thank you @willymac I haven't heard about Red Clay, very interesting.
and kind of a pain if you got it!

A messy pain! Like walking in glue that will get your feet so big and heavy you can't move in it. Drove the tractor in some of it yesterday and had to power wash it so I could unhitch the 3-point.

lol! yes sir I understand. hey with that discord site, what do you do when you go there..just start typing in that box on the bottom?
is there something you have to do to get into the Curie group?
thanks for your feedback!

Try:

https://discordapp.com/invite/QaWbMSc

Click #registration on the left, then

Type ..reg janton in the entry space at the bottom. That should do it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84