Life Lessons through Foo Fighters songs and the Word of God.

Lyrics " one of these days" by Foo Fighters first two verses

"These Days"

"One of these days the ground will drop out from beneath your feet
One of these days your heart will stop and play its final beat
One of these days the clocks will stop and time won't mean a thing
One of these days their bombs will drop and silence everything

But it's alright
Yeah it's alright
I said it's alright

Easy for you to say
Your heart has never been broken
Your pride has never been stolen
Not yet not yet

One of these days
I bet your heart'll be broken
I bet your pride'll be stolen
I bet I bet I bet I bet
One of these days
One of these days

One of these days your eyes will close and pain will disappear
One of these days you will forget to hope and learn to fear"

I remember when this song came out I heard it in the car with my husband. I was a good christian wife that had given up rock and metal music for brighter pastures with the Lord, but my husband still listened and controlled the radio so here we were. I was turned off right away by this song even though they had alot of songs I had liked. Of course I hated it, it was speaking to me directly. I did not even know why it hit me wrong but it did. We had been through alot, alot of " trials of faith" we will say and I was generally very positive and faithful as was in me through them, while often they were much harder on my husband and stressful to him. This is not now to my credit as I thought it was then ( although I would have said it was the Lord's credit)

Through these many trials I tried to encourage him and we helped to hold each other up in the light of the Lord, but I was always somewhat cold to his sufferings, and those of others. This was not that I did not care, but I had not ever felt those lows, so I did not understand.

Years before this when I was young in the Lord I was in a discussion about what we each thought could make us fall. We had a sister who had gone off and we were trying to foresee what could trip us up that badly. I remember thinking that it would prob. have to be something about my son that would be able to tempt me away. I was very wrong.

When this song came back to teach me, to taunt me, but also to somehow give me hope was three years ago when my husband of 20 yrs. My head, he who was to love me as Christ loved the church, left me for a harlot of a woman who was seeking for the precious life.

Laying on the bathroom floor of the new place I was living, in the depths of the dark night of the soul, seeing no light of Christ, and so broken that I could not any longer care or trust God.. Then I reached understanding of the suffering that before I could not have real compassion for. Then I understood as the song says that all the times I said " It's alright" that my heart had never been broken, but now truly my pride had been stolen. The only thing in my life that I was " proud" of was my marriage and family. Turns out deep down I have always felt terrible about myself and when I believed the Lord wanted me to focus on being the submissive wife and faithful believer then removed all of that from me, I was left with nothing but all of the bad things I have ever felt about myself spilling out. I did not even know most of them were there. But now my pride was stolen, truly pride cometh before the fall.

So after so many still chaotic picture slides of that I began to learn to walk again. I went from wanting to die to never wanting to die. Foo Fighters are wiser then we know and God uses all things to speak to us. All things are His and used for HIS purposes.

Now I am going to wake up and RUN FOR MY LIFE. This Song when it came out could only remind me of one thing. One wonderful pattern in the ways God speaks to us.

May you all be ALL THE WAY UP!

Sort:  

this music strikes me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61833.67
ETH 2414.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57