The Word of God

in #christianity6 years ago

Psalm 119:140 KJV
Thy word is very pure: therefore thy servant loveth it.

In the inspiration of Scripture, JC Ryle, a renowned English pastor of old, has this to say:

...the denial of verbal inspiration appears to me to destroy a great part of the usefulness of the Bible as a source of comfort and instruction in private reading.
(Taken from Ryle, Old Paths)

To me, such speaks true. Either I take the very words of God to be inspired, or I risk finding very little comfort in the Word of God. Either I take each and every word of God to be inspired, or I risk having little instruction as to how I should live my life in this world.

2 Timothy 3:16-17 KJV
[16] All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: [17] That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.

Sort:  

Wow. Thanks for sharing . am uplifted

Very true. To pick and choose what we want to fit into our lives when it comes to scripture just leads to a slippery slope

Indeed. On occasion I have come across people who try to use Scripture to describe their life choices, but when checked with other parts of the Bible, they simply do not match. Sometimes, the verse, understood in its immediate context, contradicts their decisions and conclusions! How important it is to have our lives subjected to what the Word of God teaches us, rather than subjecting the Word of God to what we want.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93